Outsourced invoice and statement printing and mailing costs roughly $0.63 to $3.48 per piece at published US rates as of September 16, 2026, for a one page black and white letter sent first class. The spread is not a quality difference. It is a units difference: Lob, PostGrid, PostalMethods and DocuSend quote a rate with postage already inside it, while Smart Payables quotes $0.15 to $0.45 per printed sheet and adds postage separately, which makes its rate look three times cheaper than it is. Before you compare two quotes, convert both to cost per finished, stamped envelope.
This guide prices the outsourced side of a job most billing teams still do partly in house: getting a monthly statement, an invoice or a past due notice printed, folded, stuffed, stamped and into the mail stream. Every figure below was read off the provider's own pricing page on September 16, 2026. Where a provider publishes nothing, it says so, because "call us" is itself a fact worth knowing when you are trying to build a shortlist in an afternoon.
What invoice printing and mailing costs per piece
Seven of the eleven providers we checked publish a US rate you can read without a sales call. Four do not. The table below is the one page, black and white, first class letter, which is the closest thing this category has to a standard unit.
| Vendor | Published per piece rate (checked 2026-09-16) | Platform or setup fee | Postage | Volume limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lob (Growth) | $0.628 per letter, $1.040 per check, $0.615 per postcard | From $550 per month | Included in the per piece rate | Up to 150,000 mailings per year |
| Lob (Startup) | $0.658 per letter, $1.040 per check, $0.645 per postcard | From $260 per month | Included | Up to 75,000 mailings per year |
| Lob (Developer) | $0.828 per letter, $1.190 per check, $0.905 per postcard | From $0 per month | Included | Up to 6,000 mailings per year |
| PostGrid (Starter) | $1.059 black and white first class, $1.219 color first class, $0.827 standard class; additional pages $0.10 black and white, $0.20 color; check MICR $1.18 | $0 per month | Included | Up to 500 mailings per month |
| Postalytics (Pro and Agency) | $0.799 letter simplex, $0.914 letter duplex, standard class at the 0 to 2,499 band; first class runs about 10 to 15 percent more | $399 per month; Marketer $199; Free $0 | Included | No minimum; rates step down at 2,500, 5,000 and 10,000 pieces |
| PostalMethods (Diamond) | $1.08 black and white, $1.26 color, additional pages $0.10 to $0.32 depending on tier | No monthly fee; rate is set by a prepaid balance, $10,000 for Diamond | Included | Prepaid balance sets the rate, from $10 (Startup, $1.33) to $10,000 |
| DocuSend | $1.35 plain paper first page, $1.36 perforated, $1.40 perforated with remittance stub; additional pages $0.11; color add $0.09 per page | $0.98 per upload batch | Quoted as a single print to mail rate | Up to 8 sheets per envelope; oversize surcharge $3.92 to $7.49 |
| Smart Payables | $0.15 to $0.45 per printed sheet; checks $0.15 to $0.50 each; 1099s from $1.00 per recipient | $300 to $1,500 one time setup | Not included. Quoted as "+ postage" | None published |
| Mailform | $2.99 first page, $0.49 per additional page, color add $0.25 per page, postcards $1.75 | Free, $50, $200 or $1,000 per month | Included in the base rate | Surcharge of $1.85 above 6 pages |
| Nordis Technologies | None published. Routes to a demo request | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| PrintMail Solutions | None published. Routes to a "cost savings analysis"; the only figure on the page is a claim that companies save up to 20 percent by outsourcing statements | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Click2Mail | Unverified. The pricing page returns a bot challenge to every automated request we made | Unverified | Unverified | Unverified |
| Stannp | None served. The US pricing page is a calculator that loads its rates in the browser | Not stated | Stated as included in item prices | Not stated |
The postage line is what makes these quotes incomparable
A first class Forever stamp costs $0.82 at the Post Office, and USPS publishes commercial pricing for the same letter from $0.593. That gap of about 23 cents a piece is the single biggest reason outsourcing pencils out at volume: a mail house drops your statements into a presorted, barcoded stream you cannot qualify for on your own postage meter, and the discount often covers a large share of their fee before any labor saving is counted.
It also explains the strangest number in the table. Smart Payables prints a sheet for $0.15 to $0.45, which reads as three to eight times cheaper than DocuSend's $1.35. It is not. Add postage at somewhere between the $0.593 commercial rate and the $0.82 retail rate and a two sheet statement lands between $0.89 and $1.72 per finished envelope, which puts it in the same band as everyone else, with a $300 to $1,500 setup fee in front of it. Any provider whose rate card says "plus postage" is quoting you roughly 40 to 60 percent of the real number.
How much does it cost to print and mail an invoice?
Budget $0.63 to $1.50 per invoice for a one page, black and white, first class piece from a provider that includes postage, and about $1.20 to $1.50 once you add a second page. Rates below roughly $0.80 come with a monthly platform fee or an annual volume commitment attached. Single piece and ad hoc services cost far more: Mailform charges $2.99 for the first page.
Four billing units, and why the cheapest rate is often the wrong plan
This category bills on four genuinely different units, and a quote is only comparable to another quote on the same unit.
| Billing unit | Who uses it | What grows your bill | Best fit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flat rate per finished mailing, postage inside | Lob, Postalytics | Piece count, plus a monthly platform fee and an annual volume ceiling | Steady, high volume, API driven sending |
| First page plus each additional page | DocuSend, PostGrid, PostalMethods, Mailform | Page count. A statement that grows from two pages to four adds $0.20 to $0.98 per customer per cycle | Variable length statements and notices |
| Prepaid balance sets the rate | PostalMethods | How much you are willing to fund up front. The same letter is $1.33 on a $10 balance and $1.08 on a $10,000 balance | Teams that can prepay to buy the rate down |
| Per printed sheet, postage passed through | Smart Payables | Sheets, then postage separately, then a one time setup fee | Mixed print jobs where you want the postage line itemized |
Two traps hide in that table. The first is page count. If you bill on a per page ladder and your statement runs long for your largest accounts, your worst customers to serve are also your most expensive to mail, which is exactly backwards. The second is the volume ceiling, and it is worth doing the arithmetic on.
Lob's Growth plan does not pay for itself on rate alone
Lob's Startup plan is $260 a month with letters at $0.658. Growth is $550 a month with letters at $0.628. The extra $290 a month is $3,480 a year, and the per piece saving is 3 cents, so Growth only wins above roughly 116,000 letters a year. The Startup plan's ceiling is 75,000 mailings a year. On Lob's own published numbers, you never move up to Growth because it is cheaper at your volume. You move up because you have run out of room on Startup, and you should price the step accordingly.
PostGrid has the same shape in a harsher form. Its published Starter rates are genuinely competitive at $1.059 for a first class black and white letter, but Starter is capped at 500 mailings a month. Any real statement run is an Enterprise conversation with no published rate, so treat the Starter table as a self serve price list rather than as a signal of what you would pay at 5,000 pieces a month.
What 60,000 statements a year actually costs
Here is the same job priced on each provider's published rates: 5,000 two page, black and white customer statements a month, first class, one envelope each, no certified mail. Figures are license and production only, at list, and every one of them is derived from the rate cards above rather than from a quote.
| Vendor and plan | Per piece | Year one total | What the number assumes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lob Startup | $0.658 | About $42,600 | $3,120 in platform fees plus $39,480 in postage inclusive piece rates. Within the 75,000 per year ceiling. Lob's published table does not break out a second page, so confirm multi page pricing before signing |
| Lob Growth | $0.628 | About $44,280 | $6,600 in platform fees plus $37,680. More headroom, higher cost at this volume |
| Postalytics Pro | $0.799 | About $52,700 | $4,788 in platform fees plus the 0 to 2,499 simplex standard class band. Volume bands step down above 2,500, and first class adds roughly 10 to 15 percent. Built for marketing mail rather than transactional statements |
| Smart Payables | $0.89 to $1.72 | About $53,600 to $103,200 | Two sheets at $0.15 to $0.45 each plus postage at $0.593 to $0.82, plus $300 to $1,500 setup |
| PostalMethods Diamond | $1.18 to $1.40 | About $70,800 to $84,000 | $1.08 first page plus a second page somewhere in the published $0.10 to $0.32 range, after funding a $10,000 prepaid balance |
| DocuSend | $1.46 | About $87,600 | $1.35 plain paper plus $0.11, plus about $12 in batch upload fees across twelve monthly runs |
| Mailform | $3.48 | About $208,800 | $2.99 plus $0.49. Priced for one off and low volume sending, not for a statement cycle |
| PostGrid Starter | $1.159 published | Not available at this volume | The 500 per month cap rules it out. Enterprise pricing is quote only |
The honest read: the spread between the cheapest usable option and the most expensive is about five to one, and almost none of it is explained by print quality. It is explained by whether you are buying an API with a platform fee attached, a per page rate card, or a per sheet price with postage bolted on afterwards.
Is it cheaper to outsource invoice printing and mailing?
Usually yes above a few thousand pieces a month, and the reason is postage rather than labor. Presort discounts take a first class letter from the $0.82 retail stamp toward the $0.593 commercial floor, and that 23 cent gap alone is worth about $13,800 a year on 60,000 statements. Below roughly 500 pieces a month the platform fees and setup charges usually eat the saving.
Certified mail is the line that wrecks collections budgets
If your notices are demand letters, final notices or anything with a legal deadline attached, certified mail is where the per piece rate stops mattering. The spread on the certified surcharge alone is meaningful: DocuSend adds $8.33 per envelope, Mailform adds $8.99, and PostalMethods charges a flat $10.00 regardless of which prepaid tier you sit on. Mailform also publishes an electronic return receipt at $3.02 and a physical return receipt at $5.30.
On 500 certified demand letters a year that is $4,165, $4,495 or $5,000. Not a large number in isolation, but it is five to seven times the cost of the ordinary letters around it, so the operational question is which accounts genuinely need certified delivery rather than which provider is cheapest at it. Teams that send a graduated series usually find the cheap fix is upstream: a better past due invoice email sequence that resolves more accounts before anything needs to go certified at all.
What to check before you sign
The published rate is the start of the conversation, not the end of it. Five things decide what you actually pay.
Whether postage is inside the rate. Ask for the number as cost per finished, stamped envelope. Any provider who answers in cost per sheet is quoting a different thing.
Where your postage discount lands. Presort savings depend on your address quality and your geographic spread. Ask what percentage of your file the provider expects to qualify for the deepest presort tier, and what happens to the pieces that do not.
The page ladder at your real page count. Price your longest statement, not your average one. Then price it again assuming it grows by a page.
Data handling and the file format. Most implementations spend their budget here rather than on print. Getting a clean, tested composition file out of your billing system is the project, and it belongs in the same conversation as your wider customer communication management software decision, because a CCM platform and a print partner overlap heavily on template control and archive.
Digital delivery parity. Nearly every provider now offers an email or portal version of the same document. DocuSend, for instance, publishes an email delivery option at $0.03 per email against $1.35 for the printed piece. That ratio is the business case for suppression, and it is why utilities and financial institutions push paperless adoption so hard. Most of them also book paper reduction as a sustainability number, which means the same invoice and spend feed usually has to end up classified in whatever system owns their emissions reporting as well.
How much does a statement mailing service charge per statement?
For a two page statement, published rates land between about $0.66 and $1.46 per piece from providers that include postage, and between $0.89 and $1.72 from a per sheet provider once postage is added. Rates at the bottom of that range require either a monthly platform fee of $260 or more, or a prepaid balance in the thousands.
Where this sits next to the rest of the document stack
Print and mail is the delivery end of a longer chain. The composition end, where templates are designed, approved and version controlled, is CCM territory, and the archive end is a document management problem with its own document management software pricing ladder. Buying the three separately is normal, but the integration points between them are where implementation budgets go, and the one that bites hardest is proving the new printed piece matches the old one line by line before cutover.
It is also worth being precise about what you are mailing. A statement and an invoice are different documents with different legal weight and different customer expectations, and mailing the wrong one on the wrong cycle generates support tickets that cost more than the postage. If that distinction is fuzzy in your billing system, sort it out before you sign a print contract, because the difference between an invoice and a statement of account determines how many pieces you are actually buying.
Short version
Seven of eleven print to mail providers publish a US rate, which makes this an unusually easy category to price before the first sales call. Expect $0.63 to $1.50 per finished first class piece at volume, with Lob cheapest on rate and DocuSend the most transparent on page level detail. Convert every quote to cost per stamped envelope before you compare anything, because the one provider quoting per sheet looks three times cheaper than it is. Check the volume ceiling before the rate, since PostGrid's published price stops at 500 pieces a month and Lob's plan steps are driven by ceilings rather than savings. And price your certified traffic separately, because at $8.33 to $10.00 a piece it behaves like a different product.