DMS pricing in the United States runs roughly $7 to $93 per user per month for a cloud document management system, which is the document management software price most teams will see on a published rate card, and an organization of 60 people can pay anywhere from about $15,800 to $67,000 a year for what looks on the surface like the same product. The spread is not mostly about features. It comes from four things vendors bury below the headline rate: a minimum seat count, whether storage is allotted per user or per account, how much AI processing is included, and whether implementation is inside or outside the subscription.
Every figure below was read off the vendor's own pricing page on September 10, 2026. Where a vendor publishes nothing, we say that instead of repeating a range from a software directory, because the directory numbers in this category are secondhand and frequently stale.
Document management system pricing from the vendors that publish one
Of fifteen document management vendors we checked, five publish a usable rate on their own site, nine publish nothing at all, and one blocks automated access so we cannot verify either way. That ratio is the single most useful fact for anyone building a shortlist: you cannot compare this category in a spreadsheet, because more than half of it will not give you a number until you take a call.
| Vendor | Published price (checked 2026-09-10) | What you are billed for |
|---|---|---|
| Laserfiche | Professional $73, Business $93, Business+ $42 USD per user per month, billed annually | Named users, with tier minimums of 5, 25 and 500 users |
| Revver | Basic $25, Essentials $67, Full $87 per user per month, with volume rates quoted as low as $4, $39 and $56 | Named users, unlimited storage on every tier |
| Egnyte | Business $22, Enterprise Lite $39, Elite $48 per user per month, paid annually | Named users plus capped storage, with priced add-on modules |
| Microsoft 365 | Business Basic $7.00, Business Standard with Copilot $23.50, Business Premium with Copilot $32.00 per user per month, paid yearly | Named users in a bundle. SharePoint arrives inside the suite, not as a standalone line |
| M-Files | Essentials listed at EUR 65 per seat per month. Enterprise is custom | Named seats. Served in euros, so it is not a US list price |
| DocuWare | Range only, $30 to $125+ per user per month for DocuWare Cloud (checked 2026-10-19) | Four cloud tiers sized for 4, 15, 40 and 100 users; per-tier prices not printed |
| Hyland OnBase | None. The product pricing URL returns a 404 | Not stated publicly |
| iManage | None. The pricing URL returns a 404 | Not stated publicly |
| FileHold | No figures. The buy page lists purchase routes (perpetual, subscription, cloud) without rates | Not stated publicly |
| LogicalDoc | None. The pricing URL returns a 404 | Not stated publicly |
| OpenKM | None. Both pricing URLs return a 404 | Not stated publicly |
| Docsvault | None. Every pricing and buy URL we tried returns a 404 | Not stated publicly |
| OpenText Documentum | None (checked 2026-09-28). Express, Premium and Ultimate tiers are named, the page routes to Speak to an expert, and marketplace listings are private offers | Not stated publicly. Named users are the usual unit on enterprise quotes |
| Doccept | None (checked 2026-09-28). Pricing is by number of licenses, quoted through a request form, after a 15 day trial license | Licenses or seats, plus a separate annual maintenance contract |
| Box | Unverifiable. The pricing page serves a bot challenge to automated requests | Unverifiable |
The names people search most are the ones publishing least. More US buyers look up DocuWare pricing every month than look up any generic phrase in this category, and DocuWare answers that search with a $30 to $125+ range and a demo form. Treat that as information, not a dead end: a vendor that quotes privately is a vendor whose price is negotiable, and you should walk in with a volume number.
Documentum pricing and Doccept pricing
Neither publishes a rate. OpenText lists Documentum in three tiers (Express, Premium and Ultimate) and sends every pricing question to a sales conversation; its AWS and Microsoft marketplace listings are sold as private offers, so there is no public number there either. Enterprise Documentum deals are typically built on named users with a separate annual maintenance line, which means the quote you get depends on seat count, modules and whether you host it or OpenText does. Doccept, a much smaller on-premise system, says plainly that its price is set by the number of licenses and quoted through a form, after a 15 day trial license expires. It also sells an annual maintenance contract as its own document, so ask for year two in writing before you compare it with a per-user cloud subscription. Any single dollar figure you see for either product on a software directory did not come from the vendor.
DocuWare pricing and M-Files pricing per user
DocuWare Cloud costs $30 to $125+ per user per month in the US, according to DocuWare's own pricing FAQ, and M-Files Essentials costs $65 per seat per month billed annually, with Enterprise by quote. Neither prints a full rate card, so the useful numbers are the plan sizes and the user types each one sells.
| What each vendor states (checked 2026-10-19) | DocuWare | M-Files |
|---|---|---|
| Published cloud rate | $30 to $125+ per user per month (US FAQ); GBP 10 to 60 on the UK FAQ | $65 per seat per month for Essentials, billed annually (served as EUR 65 to European visitors) |
| Plan structure | Four standard tiers: Cloud 4 (4 users, 20 GB), Cloud 15 (15 users, 50 GB), Cloud 40 (40 users, 500 GB), Cloud 100 (100 users, 1,000 GB) | Essentials and Enterprise. Enterprise is priced on scale, governance, automation and AI usage |
| Cheaper user type | Workflow users for approvals, forms and read-only viewing. UK page: packs of 5 at GBP 46 a month, GBP 9.20 a user | None named on the pricing page |
| Volume discount | UK full named users slide from GBP 57 down to GBP 20 per user | Not published |
| On-premises | Perpetual license; support from year two is about 20% of the license value a year | Not published |
| Implementation | Through partners, not priced | Separately priced services, not published |
The DocuWare figure most worth negotiating is the user mix. A 40 person accounts payable and operations team where 25 people only approve invoices does not need 40 full licenses, and the UK pricing shows a workflow seat at roughly a sixth of a full one. Ask for the quote split by full and workflow users, with the storage tier named. For M-Files, 100 Essentials seats at list come to $78,000 a year before services, which is the number to hold against a Laserfiche or Revver quote at the same headcount.
IT documentation software pricing (IT Glue and Hudu)
IT documentation pricing is set per technician, not per employee, which makes it far cheaper than a company-wide DMS for the same IT team. IT Glue lists Basic at $29, Select at $38 and Enterprise at $44 per user per month on a 36-month term with a 5-user minimum and a one-time onboarding fee. Hudu lists one plan at $27 per user per month billed annually or $30 monthly, with no minimums, no contract and no setup fee (both checked 2026-10-05).
| Tool | Published price (checked 2026-10-05) | Terms that change the total |
|---|---|---|
| IT Glue | Basic $29, Select $38, Enterprise $44 per user per month. Enterprise for 1 to 4 users runs $49 to $102 | 36-month term, 5-user minimum, one-time onboarding fee. Integrations capped at 1 (Basic) and 2 (Select) |
| Hudu | $27 per user per month billed annually, $30 monthly | No minimum, no contract, no setup fee. Radar add-on from $44 a month billed annually |
For a five-person IT team the arithmetic is short: IT Glue Basic comes to $1,740 a year and $5,220 over the 36-month term it requires, while Hudu annual comes to $1,620 a year with nothing committed beyond it. The term is the bigger number. A three-year commitment is fine for a managed service provider that already knows its stack, and a poor bet for an internal team still deciding whether runbooks belong in the IT tool or in the company DMS.
Which record retention scheduling vendors offer the most affordable annual pricing plans in USD?
The most affordable annual plans with a published USD price are Microsoft Purview Suite at $12 per user per month paid yearly on top of Microsoft 365, Google Vault inside Workspace Business Plus at $22 per user per month on the annual plan, and Collabspace Archive from $12,000 a year per organization. Iron Mountain Policy Center has a no-charge Essential edition for schedule research, but it manages the schedule itself rather than applying retention to your files.
Records retention software with a published price runs from about $12 per user per month on top of a Microsoft 365 license to $12,000 a year per organization at the low end of a dedicated platform. Six of the 13 vendors we checked on October 6, 2026 publish a number; the specialist retention schedule vendors mostly do not.
| Vendor | Published price (checked 2026-10-06) | Where retention scheduling sits |
|---|---|---|
| Microsoft Purview | Purview Suite add-on $12.00 per user per month paid yearly; Microsoft 365 E5 $60.00 per user per month | Basic retention labels come with E3 and Business Premium. Disposition review, event-based retention and declaring records need E5 or the Purview Suite |
| Google Vault | Included in Workspace Business Plus, $22.00 per user per month on the annual plan ($26.40 flexible) | Not in Business Starter or Standard. Business plans cap at 300 users |
| Laserfiche Cloud | Professional $875, Business $1,115, Business+ $500 per user per year | Records management (schedules, disposition, legal hold) included in Business and Business+ only. Minimums 5, 25 and 500 users |
| Collabspace | Archive from $12,000, Discovery from $36,000, Continuum from $84,000 per year | Per organization, no per-user fee. Records management and retention included from Archive |
| M-Files | Essentials from $65 per seat per month, usually billed annually; Enterprise by quote | Lifecycle management on both tiers; no separately named retention schedule module |
| DocuWare | Publishes UK prices only (GBP 10 to 60 per user per month); US pricing paths return 404 | All features in every subscription; cloud or on-premises licensing |
| Iron Mountain Policy Center | Essential edition is a no-charge subscription; Standard, Professional and Enterprise show no amounts | Retention schedule research and policy management |
| Zasio Versatile | No published price | SaaS monthly fee or on-premises with annual maintenance; U.S., North America or International citation scope |
| RecordPoint | No published price; states no per-user pricing, no data cap and no platform fees | Records management across connected systems |
| Gimmal Records | No published price; marketplace listing is contact only | Records management for Microsoft 365 and file shares |
| Access | No published price; describes a flat-rate monthly subscription | Retention rules management included |
| Infolinx | No published price | Physical and electronic records tracking |
| FileTrail | No published price; now redirects to Litera | Records governance for law firms |
The cheapest route for most US companies is the one already on the invoice. A 200-person company on Microsoft 365 E3 adds full records management for $28,800 a year with the Purview Suite, and a Workspace Business Plus customer already has Vault. A dedicated platform earns its fee when records live in several systems at once, or when legal needs citation research behind every retention period, which is what Zasio and Iron Mountain sell.
Subscription versus perpetual license is mostly a moot question now. Only Zasio and DocuWare still offer an on-premises option, and neither publishes the license price (DocuWare says only that support from year two runs about 20 percent of it); every published figure above is an annual subscription.
Pharmaceutical document management software pricing in the US
Document control for pharma, biotech and medical device companies (validated, 21 CFR Part 11 e-signatures, audit trails, controlled SOPs) starts around $12,000 a year for the cheapest published package and climbs fast. Of 25 GxP document control and eQMS vendors we checked, eight publish a usable figure. Veeva, MasterControl and most of the life sciences specialists quote privately.
| Vendor | Published price (checked 2026-10-07) | Validation and Part 11 |
|---|---|---|
| Greenlight Guru | eQMS packages from $12,000 a year, implementation priced separately | Validation documents and a Part 11 IQ protocol with every release |
| SimplerQMS | Starter from $17,500 a year, up to 15 users | Implementation, IQ/OQ/PQ validation and migration included |
| isoTracker | All modules, 12 months: 5 users $4,816, 10 users $9,337, 20 users $16,734, 30 users $24,954 | Validation documentation is an extra cost by module |
| Effivity | $35, $32 or $25 per user per month billed yearly (Starter, Growth, Enterprise), 5 or 15 user minimum | Part 11 not stated on the pricing page |
| Laserfiche Cloud | $73, $93 or $42 per user per month billed annually (5, 25 and 500 user minimums), services extra | Part 11 not stated on the pricing page |
| M-Files | Essentials 65 per seat per month billed annually, shown in euros on the page | Part 11 e-signature module sold separately |
| DocuWare | Range only, $30 to $125 plus per user per month | Not stated with a price |
| FileHold | Perpetual license $40 per registered user, services $175 an hour, subscription quote only | No priced life sciences edition |
| Veeva QualityDocs | No published price | Built for GxP |
| MasterControl | No published price, named-user licensing | Validation tools included |
| Qualio | No published price, 5 and 10 edit users on the first two plans, implementation fee on all plans | Built for GxP |
| ZenQMS | No published price, packaged rather than per seat | Built for GxP |
| Scilife | No published price | GAMP 5 validation package and Part 11 e-signatures |
| Dot Compliance | No published price | Validation packages and Part 11 stated |
| Montrium | No published price, monthly user fee plus one-time activation fee | Built for GxP |
| Qualityze | No published price | Validation packages included |
| Ennov | No published price | Part 11 compliance stated |
| Sparta TrackWise Digital | No published price | Built for GxP |
| Arena QMS | No published price, annual agreements | Built for GxP |
| Ideagen Quality Management | No published price | Not stated with a price |
Two things move a pharmaceutical DMS quote more than the per-user rate. The first is validation: SimplerQMS and Greenlight Guru put it in the package, isoTracker bills it per module, and a generic DMS like Laserfiche or M-Files leaves the computer system validation to you or a consultant, so budget it as a separate project line. The second is the user count rule. Qualio limits edit users per plan while read-only staff who sign off on SOPs may or may not count, so ask how a training acknowledgement is licensed before you compare a 15-user quote to a 60-person headcount.
Construction and engineering document management pricing (Autodesk Docs, Procore, RedEye, Union Square)
Construction and engineering document management costs $260 to $1,400 per user per year where a price is published, or a flat $16,000 a year and up for an engineering drawing platform with unlimited users. Of fourteen products we checked on October 13, 2026, nine publish a figure. Procore, Deltek PIM (the product sold as Union Square), Oracle Aconex, Newforma Konekt and Kahua publish none.
| Vendor | Published price (checked 2026-10-13) | Billing unit |
|---|---|---|
| Autodesk Docs (now Forma Data Management) | $540 per year, $70 month to month, $1,620 for three years | Per user |
| Autodesk Build (now Forma Build) | $1,400 per year or $175 monthly. Essentials edition $800 per year | Per user. PlanGrid is folded into it and closed to new customers |
| Bluebeam | Basics $260, Core $330, Complete $440, Max $590 per year | Per user, billed annually |
| Fieldwire by Hilti | Pro $39, Business $64, Business Plus $89 per month, billed annually | Per user |
| Trimble ProjectSight | Go $29 per month, billed annually. Enterprise custom from 30 users | Per user, unlimited projects, 15 GB |
| Trimble Connect | Pro $349, Innovate $499 per year | Per user |
| Drawboard Projects | Team $270 per year or $29 monthly (up to 25 users). Growth $370 per year or $39 monthly (up to 150) | Per user |
| Egnyte for AEC | $22, $39 or $48 per month paid annually, Project Hub add-on $6 | Per user. No separate AEC plan price |
| RedEye (now part of Accruent) | Core $16,000, Advanced $48,000, Enterprise $80,000 per year, shown as indicative | Flat platform fee, unlimited users on Core, first 20,000 drawings and documents included |
| Procore | No published price | Annual fee per product based on your annual construction volume, unlimited users |
| Deltek PIM (Union Square) | No published price | Not stated |
| Oracle Aconex | No published price | Not stated |
| Newforma Konekt | No published price | Not stated |
| Kahua | No published price. Quoted on organization type, program scale and package | Not per user |
Three billing models sit in that table and they reward different firms. Per user tools suit a small design team: twenty users cost $5,400 a year on Drawboard, $6,600 on Bluebeam Core and $10,800 on Autodesk Docs. RedEye's flat $16,000 is more than any of those at twenty users and less than Autodesk Docs from thirty users upward, as long as you stay under 20,000 drawings. Procore's volume-based fee ignores headcount entirely, which favors a contractor with many occasional users and penalizes one with a few large projects. Ask a quote-only vendor which of the three it is before you ask for the number.
The five ways a DMS meters you
Two quotes at the same per-user rate can differ by tens of thousands of dollars a year because they meter different things. These are the units in play right now.
Named users. Every publishing vendor above bills per named user per month, almost always on an annual commitment. This is the easy part, and it is the only part most comparison articles cover.
Seat minimums. Laserfiche publishes minimums of 5 users on Professional, 25 on Business and 500 on Business+. That minimum, not the rate, decides which tier you can actually buy. A 40 person firm cannot buy the cheapest per-user tier on that price list even though it is printed right there on the page.
Storage, allotted two incompatible ways. Laserfiche Professional and Business include 100 GB per user, so a 60 person deployment carries 6 TB of headroom. Business+ switches the model entirely to 30 TB per account. Microsoft 365 gives 1 TB of cloud storage per user. Egnyte publishes plan storage allowances of 100 GB and 150 GB. Revver includes unlimited storage on every tier. You cannot compare storage across these without converting to total gigabytes at your headcount.
AI, now a metered consumption unit. This is new since 2025 and it is where the next round of overage bills will come from. Laserfiche allots AI Units per year (1,000 on Professional, 50,000 on Business, 250,000 on Business+) alongside API call caps of 50,000, 150,000 and 500,000 per month. M-Files states outright that Enterprise pricing is tailored partly to AI usage. Microsoft folds Copilot into the $23.50 and $32.00 tiers and prices the cheap tier without it. Revver bundles its AI suite into every license. If document classification and extraction is the reason you are buying, the AI allotment is a price term, not a feature bullet.
Implementation, priced separately and stated so. Both Laserfiche and Revver print the exclusion on the pricing page itself: subscription rates exclude professional services and implementation fees. Nobody publishes what those fees are.
The cheapest per-user tier is often the middle one
Laserfiche's published list is worth studying because it breaks the assumption every buyer brings to a pricing page. The tiers run $73, then $93, then $42. The most expensive per user is the middle tier, and the cheapest is the top one, because Business+ requires 500 users. Per-user price falls as commitment rises, which means the phrase "starts at" tells you almost nothing on its own.
Revver publishes the same shape more explicitly: Basic lists at $25 per user per month with volume rates quoted as low as $4. That is a spread of more than six to one on the identical product. The list rate in this category is a ceiling, not a price, and the first thing to establish on any call is what the rate looks like at your actual headcount and at double it.
Which DMS platforms provide the most flexible pricing models for businesses of different sizes?
Revver is the most flexible of the vendors that publish a price: no account minimums, unlimited storage on every tier, and volume rates that fall from a $25 list to as low as $4 per user. Laserfiche is flexible across sizes too, but only if you clear its seat minimums of 5, 25 and 500 users. Egnyte's $22 Business plan stops at 100 users. The DMS charges that decide flexibility are minimums, caps and the unit, not the headline rate.
| Vendor | Smallest buyable deal | What changes as you grow | Fits best at |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revver | No account minimums, list $25, $67, $87 per user | Volume rates as low as $4, $39, $56; unlimited storage throughout | 5 to 500 users, the widest range on one price list |
| Laserfiche | 5 users on Professional at $73 | Business at $93 needs 25 users; Business+ at $42 needs 500 and switches storage to 30 TB per account | Either very small or 500 plus; the middle is the expensive band |
| Egnyte | Business at $22 per user | Business is capped at 100 users, then Enterprise Lite $39 or Elite $48 | Under 100 users |
| DocuWare | Cloud tiers sized by storage (20 GB to 1,000 GB) | US FAQ prints $30 to $125 plus per user per month | Teams that think in storage, not seats |
| Hudu (IT documentation) | One plan, no minimums, $27 annual or $30 monthly per technician | Flat per technician at any size | IT teams of 1 to 50 |
| IT Glue (IT documentation) | 5-user minimum, 36-month term, onboarding fee | $29, $38, $44 per user by tier | MSPs ready to commit for three years |
Rates are the ones quoted elsewhere in this guide with their check dates. The practical test for flexibility is to ask each vendor for the rate at today's headcount, at double it and at half it, plus whether seats can be reduced at renewal. A vendor that only answers the first question is not flexible, whatever the pricing page says.
What a 60 person deployment costs
Here is the same organization, 60 users and roughly 250 GB of active documents, priced against every vendor that publishes a rate. List prices, annual commitment, before implementation.
| Plan | Year one at 60 users | Storage included | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft 365 Business Basic | $5,040 | 1 TB per user | Web and mobile Office apps only, no Copilot |
| Egnyte Business | $15,840 | 100 GB plan allowance | Add-on modules priced at $6 and $10 per user per month |
| Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot | $16,920 | 1 TB per user | SharePoint arrives as part of the suite |
| Revver Basic (list) | $18,000 | Unlimited | Volume rates quoted as low as $4 per user |
| Egnyte Elite | $34,560 | 150 GB plan allowance | |
| Revver Essentials (list) | $48,240 | Unlimited | Volume rates quoted as low as $39 per user |
| Laserfiche Professional | $52,560 | 6 TB (100 GB per user) | 1,000 AI Units per year |
| Revver Full (list) | $62,640 | Unlimited | Volume rates quoted as low as $56 per user |
| Laserfiche Business | $66,960 | 6 TB (100 GB per user) | 50,000 AI Units per year, 3 repositories |
| Laserfiche Business+ | Not available | 30 TB per account | Requires 500 users |
A thirteen-fold spread across published list prices for the same headcount tells you the category is not really one category. The bottom of that table is file storage with permissions. The top is records lifecycle management with retention schedules, audit logging, SOC 2 and HIPAA posture, and process automation. Decide which of those two things you are buying before you compare a single number, because half the buyers who feel overcharged bought the second and only needed the first.
How much does document management software cost?
For a US business buying cloud document management in 2026, expect $7 to $93 per user per month on an annual commitment, with most mid-market deployments landing between $22 and $73. Bundled suites sit at the bottom, dedicated records platforms at the top. Add implementation, which is excluded from every published rate we checked and is quoted separately.
How much does a cloud document management system cost per user?
A cloud document management system costs $7 to $93 per user per month at published list prices, billed annually. Microsoft 365 Business Basic is the floor at $7.00, Egnyte Business sits at $22, Revver Basic at $25, Laserfiche Professional at $73 and Laserfiche Business at $93. M-Files lists Essentials at EUR 65 per seat. The per-user rate only holds if you clear the tier's seat minimum, so check that first.
Two adjustments change the per-user figure more than the list rate does. Read-only users (auditors, clients, field staff who only look things up) are priced as full seats by most vendors unless you ask, and volume pricing moves the number a long way: Revver quotes Basic as low as $4 per user against a $25 list. Ask for the rate at your headcount, at double it, and for view-only seats separately.
How much does M-Files implementation cost for a 100-person company?
M-Files does not publish implementation pricing. Its pricing page (checked 2026-10-02) lists Essentials at EUR 65 per seat per month, Enterprise as a custom quote "tailored" to scale, governance, automation and AI usage, and implementation, managed services and premium support as separately priced services. At list, 100 Essentials seats come to EUR 78,000 a year before any services.
For the services line, get the partner or M-Files to quote three things separately: metadata and vault design, migration of the existing archive (priced per document or per gigabyte), and connectors to the systems that create documents. The license is predictable from the price list. The project is not, and a fixed-scope statement of work is the only way to compare it with a Laserfiche Business deployment at the same headcount, which lists at $111,600 a year for 100 users before its own services.
How much does enterprise content management software cost for a company with 250 to 1,000 employees?
At published 2026 list prices, enterprise content management software for 250 users costs about $75,000 to $279,000 a year, and for 1,000 users about $300,000 to $1.1 million, before implementation. Nobody at that size pays list, but list is what the discount is taken from, and the plan minimums matter more than the rate. We reread these three pricing pages on October 13, 2026.
| Plan | List rate per user per month | Year one at 250 users | Year one at 1,000 users |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revver Basic | $25 (volume rates as low as $4) | $75,000 | $300,000 |
| Egnyte Enterprise Lite | $39, paid annually | $117,000 | $468,000 |
| Egnyte Elite | $48, paid annually | $144,000 | $576,000 |
| Revver Essentials | $67 (volume rates as low as $39) | $201,000 | $804,000 |
| Laserfiche Professional | $73, billed annually | $219,000 | $876,000 |
| Laserfiche Business+ | $42, billed annually, 500 user minimum | $252,000 (you pay for 500 seats) | $504,000 |
| Revver Full | $87 (volume rates as low as $56) | $261,000 | $1,044,000 |
| Laserfiche Business | $93, billed annually, 25 user minimum | $279,000 | $1,116,000 |
Two things in that table are worth more than the totals. First, Egnyte's $22 Business plan is capped at 100 users, so it drops out before you reach 250 and the real entry price is $39. Second, Laserfiche Business+ costs less than Laserfiche Business from 226 users upward, even though you are paying for 500 seats and using fewer. A 250 person company saves $27,000 a year by buying the plan with the bigger minimum, and gets 30 TB of pooled storage with it. Ask for both quotes.
What does it cost to migrate to a DMS?
Migration to a DMS is priced as services, outside the subscription, and no vendor in this guide publishes a fixed migration fee. Revver and Laserfiche both state that implementation and professional services are excluded from the per user rate. FileHold is the only one that prints a services rate, $175 an hour. Budget three lines: moving the files, mapping folders to metadata, and converting paper.
The file move itself is the small line. The expensive part is deciding what each document is, because a shared drive carries no document type, retention class or owner, and somebody has to assign them. If paper is involved, published scanning bureau rates of about $120 to $350 per banker's box give you a hard number for that line. Ask the vendor for the migration as a fixed price with a document count attached, and ask who fixes the records that land in the wrong class.
How much does it cost to scan paper records into a DMS?
Scanning paper into a new DMS costs about $120 to $350 per banker's box at the bureaus that publish a rate, so a 50 box archive of roughly 120,000 pages lands between about $6,000 and $14,500 before you add shredding or extra index fields. Per pound pricing, built for household photos, runs about four times that at office volume.
| Scanning quote basis (checked September 27, 2026) | 50 boxes, 120,000 pages | What is in the price |
|---|---|---|
| ScansAmerica, from $120 per box | $6,000 and up | Starting price, contents not itemized |
| NARA GSA sample, $145.50 per box | $7,275 | $0.07 per side plus $5.50 per box destruction |
| VDOCS, $149 per box | $7,450 | Prep, indexing and OCR included, shredding not listed |
| ScanPros, about $200 per box | About $10,000 | Starting estimate, described as all inclusive |
| StoreMore, $250 per box at 10 or more | $12,913 to $17,413 | Shredding $8.25 per box, index file $90 per box more |
| ARC Document Solutions, $279 per box | $14,475 | OCR, 3 index fields and pickup, plus $10.50 shredding per box |
| Heirloom, $24.99 per pound | About $30,000 | About 24 pounds per box |
The scan is rarely what separates these quotes. The index fields are, because a searchable PDF with no document type or date is hard to file into a DMS, and StoreMore's $90 per box index file adds more than any provider's shredding. Ask for the job priced on your page count with the fields you need named in writing. The other five bureaus and the per page rates are in our bulk document scanning cost comparison.
What is the average cost of a document management system?
There is no meaningful average, and any single figure you see quoted is derived from third-party deal data rather than from vendors. Across the five vendors that publish rates, a 60 user deployment costs between $5,040 and $66,960 a year at list. The useful number is not an average, it is your own headcount multiplied by the tier you actually qualify for.
Is on-premise document management cheaper than cloud?
Not usually, and the comparison is harder than it looks. On-premise licensing is typically a perpetual fee plus annual maintenance, so the first year is expensive and later years are cheaper, but you also carry servers, backup, patching and the staff time to run them. Neither DocuWare nor FileHold publishes an on-premise figure, and Laserfiche routes its self-hosted product to a demo. The honest test is whether a compliance or data-residency requirement forces the decision. If nothing forces it, cloud wins on total effort at almost every size below enterprise.
What the pricing page never shows you
Backfile conversion. Scanning and indexing the existing archive is usually the largest single line item in year one, and it is not on any price list. The cost driver is not scanning, it is keying the metadata that makes documents findable, because a scanned PDF with no fields is a filing cabinet with the labels torn off. Budget it per document and get the vendor to quote it explicitly. Published bureau rates run about $120 to $350 per banker's box; our document scanning pricing comparison lines up twelve of them by page, box and pound.
Storage overage. Where storage is capped per plan rather than per user, growth quietly changes your bill. Ask what a gigabyte over the allowance costs and whether deleted or archived documents still count.
Integration work. A DMS earns its keep when documents arrive automatically from the systems that create them. That connector is sometimes a checkbox and sometimes a services engagement, and the pricing page never distinguishes.
Read-only and external users. Auditors, clients and contractors who only need to view documents can be a large share of your user count. Revver publishes a Guest tier included with a package; most vendors do not say. Ask before you count seats, because this line alone can move a quote by 30 percent.
AI overage. If AI classification is metered in units, find out what a unit is, how many a typical document consumes, and what happens when the annual allotment runs out mid-year.
Five questions that make quotes comparable
- What is the minimum seat count on this tier, and what is the per-user rate at my headcount and at double it?
- Is storage allotted per user or per account, and what does overage cost?
- What is included for implementation, and what is quoted separately?
- What do read-only and external users cost?
- What is the year-two and year-three renewal rate, in writing, with a cap?
That last one matters more than the discount you negotiate today. Migrating a document repository is painful enough that renewal leverage sits almost entirely with the vendor after go-live, so the cap has to be in the original contract or it does not exist.
When you should not buy a DMS yet
If the real problem is that nobody can find last year's signed agreements, you may need a contract repository rather than a full records platform, and those are priced on stored contract volume instead of seats. Our breakdown of what contract management software costs and which CLM vendors publish a number covers that market, and the guide to setting up a contract repository and its metadata is worth reading before you decide you need the bigger system.
If the pile filling your drives is supplier paperwork, the bottleneck is upstream of storage. Documents that arrive as email attachments and get filed by hand are a process problem, and fixing the vendor invoice management process usually removes more work than any repository does. The same is true of employee spend: before you pay to keep seven years of receipts in a $73 per user system, check whether the tool your team already uses to capture and file expense receipts automatically is holding them properly, because duplicating that archive is a cost with no offsetting benefit.
And if the documents you care about are the ones you send rather than the ones you keep, you are shopping in the wrong aisle entirely. Statement and notice generation is its own category with its own economics, which we cover in the guide to customer communication management software and document output.
The short version
Five of fifteen document management vendors publish a rate, so treat precise figures for DocuWare, Hyland, iManage, Documentum or Box as unverified wherever you find them. The published US rates run from $7 per user per month for a bundled suite to $93 for a records platform, and the tier you can buy is set by the seat minimum rather than the price. Before any call, write down four numbers: total users, how many of those are read-only, gigabytes in the existing archive, and documents to be backfile scanned. Those four decide your quote more than anything on the pricing page, and every vendor will ask you for them anyway. Ask for the renewal cap in the same conversation, because you will not have leverage later.