Contact center software costs between $15 and $249 per agent per month at published list rates in the United States, and a 50 agent operation can spend anywhere from $9,000 to $149,400 a year on licenses alone before a single minute of telephony is billed. The spread has less to do with features than with what the vendor is counting: a named agent, a concurrent seat, an active user hour, a monthly active user, or nothing at all except the minutes and messages that flow through the platform. Two quotes at the same headline rate can land $40,000 apart once you convert them to your own headcount and shift pattern.
Every figure below was read off the vendor's own pricing page on September 15, 2026. Where a vendor publishes nothing, or serves a price only in a foreign currency, we say so rather than repeat a range from a software directory. Directory numbers in this category are secondhand, and most were copied from each other.
Which contact center vendors publish a price?
Of fifteen contact center vendors we checked, eleven publish a usable US rate on their own site, one publishes prices but serves them in local currency to anyone outside its home market, and three publish nothing. That is a much more transparent category than document management or customer communication software, where most vendors will not name a number, and it changes how you should shop: here you can build most of the spreadsheet before the first call.
| Vendor | Published price (checked 2026-09-15) | What you are billed for |
|---|---|---|
| Genesys Cloud CX | CX 1 $75, CX 2 $115, CX 3 $155, CX 4 $240 per user per month, billed annually | Named users, with concurrent and hourly interacting licenses offered as alternatives. 250 named or 350 concurrent AI Experience tokens per organization per month are included; CX 4 adds 30 per named agent |
| NICE CXone Mpower | Omnichannel $110, Essential $135, Core $169, Complete $209, Ultimate $249 per agent per month, plus $0.25 per session on Ultimate | Named agents billed monthly in arrears, with AI copilot and autopilot use metered per session on top |
| Five9 | Digital $119, Core $159 per seat per month. Plus, Pro and Enterprise are quote-only | Concurrent seats, minimum 50. 3,000 AI minutes per bundled seat included, usage billed above that |
| Talkdesk | Digital Essentials $85, Voice Essentials $105, Elite $165, Industry Experience Clouds $225 per user per month | Named users. The page states no billing term or minimum. Talkdesk Express bundles 25 licenses with $100 of credit for companies under 50 employees, no contract |
| RingCentral RingCX | Standard $65, Professional $95, Elite $145 per user per month paid annually ($75, $110 and $165 monthly). Enterprise Contact Center is quote-only | Named users. AI add-ons priced separately at $25 per user per month for interaction analytics, agent assist and supervisor assist, and $20 for workforce management |
| Dialpad Support | Essentials $80, Advanced $115, Premium $150 per user per month billed annually ($95, $135 and $170 monthly) | Named users. Digital virtual agent add-on from $200 per month for 500 sessions on Essentials; AI Agent priced per conversation from a prepaid credit pool |
| Aircall | Essentials $30, Professional $50 per license per month billed annually ($40 and $70 monthly). Custom tier is quote-only | Named licenses, minimum 3 (25 on Custom). AI Voice Agent $175 per 500 minutes or $0.49 per minute pay as you go; AI Assist $9, AI Assist Pro $49, Analytics+ $15, WhatsApp $10 per license per month |
| Nextiva | Core $15, Engage $25, Scale $75 per user per month billed annually, with Core and Engage shown against struck list prices of $23 and $50. Enterprise contact center Essential from $75 per agent per month; Professional and Premium are quote-only | Named users. Engage includes an inbound call center and 500 texts per user per month; the $25 rate is displayed as a discount, so treat $50 as the list rate at renewal |
| Freshcaller | Free $0, Growth $15, Pro $39, Enterprise $69 per agent per month billed annually, plus per-minute calling | Named agents plus minutes. 2,000, 3,000 and 5,000 incoming minutes per month are included on the paid tiers; day passes at $2, $7 and $12 |
| Amazon Connect | No license. Voice $0.038 per minute, chat $0.010 per message, email $0.080 per message, SMS $0.014 per message in US regions | Usage only. The page states no minimums, no long-term contracts and no seat-based licensing |
| Twilio Flex | $1 per active user hour, or $150 per named user per month, or $35 per monthly active user plus metered usage. 5,000 free active user hours for new accounts | Three different meters for the same product. Voice at $0.035 per minute and digital at $0.005 per message are billed underneath all three |
| Zoom Contact Center | Essentials, Premium and Elite are priced per user per month billed annually, but the page serves local currency by location, so the US rate could not be verified from our server | Named users, with a concurrent license option stated on the page. Every add-on requires a paid base plan |
| GoTo Connect Contact Center | None. Every plan on the pricing page reads Contact Sales | Not stated publicly |
| CallTools | None. The pricing URL is a five-question quote form | Not stated publicly |
| 8x8 | Unverifiable. The pricing page rate-limits automated requests and renders blank | Unverifiable |
Two things in that table are worth more than any single rate. First, the vendors with the most brand searches, Five9 and Genesys, now publish, which they did not a few years ago. Second, three of the fifteen bill on something other than a seat, and those three are the ones most likely to be either far cheaper or far more expensive than the seat vendors depending on how busy your agents are. That is the arithmetic the rest of this guide does. The rates above, with the date each was read and the ninety-odd others we hold across billing, support and contracts software, are on the Rate Desk, which also runs the per-agent conversion on any quote you paste in.
How much does a cloud contact center cost per agent?
A cloud contact center costs $15 to $249 per agent per month at published US list rates, and every vendor in the table above is cloud delivered. Teams that need voice plus chat or email, routing and reporting usually land between $65 and $165 per agent. Amazon Connect skips the license entirely and bills $0.038 per voice minute, which can cost more than a seat for a busy agent. We re-read the Genesys, Talkdesk and Amazon Connect pages on October 8, 2026 and the rates had not moved.
| Plan (20 agents, 12 months) | Monthly list rate | Year one at list | What the number leaves out |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aircall Professional, billed annually | $50 per license | $12,000 | AI Assist and analytics add-ons, extra numbers |
| RingCentral RingCX Standard, paid annually | $65 per user | $15,600 | $25 AI add-ons and $20 workforce management |
| Genesys Cloud CX 1, billed annually | $75 per user | $18,000 | Telephony, and AI tokens above the included pool |
| Talkdesk Voice Essentials | $105 per user | $25,200 | Forecasting and WFM, which start at Elite ($165) |
| Dialpad Support Advanced, billed annually | $115 per user | $27,600 | Digital virtual agent from $200 a month |
| NICE CXone Mpower Core | $169 per agent | $40,560 | Per session AI on Ultimate only; billed monthly in arrears |
| Amazon Connect, usage only | $0.038 per voice minute | About $36,480 | Assumes 4,000 handled minutes per agent a month; phone number and telephony charges are extra |
The pattern holds at almost any size. Seat pricing rewards agents who are busy all day; per minute pricing rewards a floor that is quiet for long stretches. A 20 agent team taking 1,000 minutes per agent a month would pay about $9,120 a year in Amazon Connect service usage, less than any seat plan above, and the same team at 4,000 minutes pays more than Talkdesk. If what you actually need is coverage on the chat channel rather than more software, staffed chat is sold per chat instead of per seat, and we compared those rates in live chat outsourcing pricing.
The five ways contact center software meters you
Named agents. One license per person who logs in, whether they work one shift a week or six. Talkdesk, RingCX, Dialpad, Aircall, Nextiva and Freshcaller price this way, and it is the simplest model to budget because the number is your headcount. It is also the most expensive model for any operation that runs more than one shift, because the night shift pays for seats the day shift is already paying for.
Concurrent seats. One license per agent logged in at the same time. Five9 prices only this way, with a floor of 50. Genesys and Zoom offer it as an option. A 90 agent operation across three shifts of 30 needs 30 concurrent seats, not 90, so a concurrent rate that looks 60 percent higher than a named rate can be cheaper by a third. The floor is the catch: a 20 agent team cannot buy Five9 at all at the published rate, because the minimum is 50 seats.
Active user hours. Twilio Flex's $1 per hour meter bills only while an agent is signed in and available. A full-time agent at 160 hours a month costs $160, slightly more than the $150 named rate, so the hourly meter is only cheaper for part-time, seasonal or overflow staff. That is exactly the population most seat-based vendors make you pay full price for.
Monthly active users plus usage. Twilio's third option, $35 per monthly active user, is a low platform fee with every underlying service, routing, studio flows and messaging, billed on consumption with no included quota. The published rate is a floor, and the real number does not exist until you model your interaction volume.
Pure usage. Amazon Connect has no agent license at all. You pay $0.038 per voice minute and cents per message, and the AI, scheduling and evaluation tools are stated as included. The consequence is that an idle agent costs nothing and a busy one costs a great deal, which turns the buying decision into a question about occupancy rather than headcount.
If what you actually need is a phone menu in front of a small team rather than a full agent desktop, the numbers change again, because most business phone plans include the menu from their entry tier. We priced that case separately in our IVR system cost guide, where year one for a 10 person team runs from about $375 to $12,600.
Pricing models for voice minutes, messaging and agent licenses, compared
Contact center platforms bill three separate things, and most quotes only put one of them on the first page. The agent license is the fixed part. Voice minutes and digital messages are the variable part, and they are either included in the license, capped, or metered from the first minute. The table lines up the published meters side by side so you can see which of the three a quote is hiding.
| Vendor | Agent license | Voice minutes | Chat, SMS and email |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Connect | None | $0.038 per minute | Chat $0.010, SMS $0.014, email $0.080 per message |
| Twilio Flex | $1 per active hour, $150 per named user or $35 per monthly active user | $0.035 per minute underneath every license | $0.005 per digital message underneath every license |
| Freshcaller | $15, $39 or $69 per agent | 2,000, 3,000 or 5,000 incoming minutes included, then per minute | Not part of the calling product |
| Nextiva | $15 to $75 per user | Inside the plan | 500 texts per user per month on Engage |
| Genesys Cloud CX | $75 to $240 per named user | Quoted with the deal, not on the page | Digital channels included by tier |
| Five9 | $119 or $159 per concurrent seat, 50 minimum | Quoted with the deal, not on the page | Digital tier priced as its own seat |
| Aircall | $30 or $50 per license, 3 minimum | Inside the plan | WhatsApp $10 per license per month as an add-on |
The pattern matters more than any single cell. Where the license is cheap or absent, every voice minute and message is billed on top, so the monthly number moves with your contact volume. Where the license is expensive, voice and digital are mostly inside it, and the risk moves to seat count instead. Ask every vendor for the same three lines: license, minutes and messages at your actual monthly volume. A quote that shows only the license is showing you a third of the bill.
Texting is the line that most often sits outside the platform entirely. If your team only needs two-way SMS rather than a full contact center, a dedicated texting tool can cost less than the digital tier here; our SMS customer service software pricing comparison prices 23 vendors for a five-agent team, 10DLC fees included.
When usage pricing beats a seat, and when it does not
The breakeven between Amazon Connect's voice meter and a seat license is easy to compute from the published numbers, and it decides the question for most teams.
| Seat plan | Rate per agent per month | Voice minutes per agent per month where Amazon Connect costs the same | Roughly, in talk hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aircall Essentials | $30 | 789 | 13 hours |
| RingCX Standard | $65 | 1,711 | 29 hours |
| Genesys Cloud CX 1 | $75 | 1,974 | 33 hours |
| Talkdesk Voice Essentials | $105 | 2,763 | 46 hours |
| Five9 Core (concurrent) | $159 | 4,184 | 70 hours |
| NICE CXone Mpower Ultimate | $249 | 6,553 | 109 hours |
A full-time voice agent at 65 percent occupancy handles around 100 talk hours a month, which is 6,000 minutes, or about $228 on Amazon Connect's meter. At that volume every seat plan in the table except NICE's top tier is cheaper on paper. Below 30 talk hours a month, which describes overflow desks, seasonal teams, internal help desks and any group where phone is a secondary channel, the usage meter wins comfortably. The published rates settle this: pure usage is a small-volume or variable-volume model, and a fully staffed inbound queue is a seat model. Telephony minutes on top of the seat vendors' licenses shift the line somewhat, and those per-minute rates are the first thing to ask for, because none of the seat vendors above prints them next to the plan. If the overflow is small enough that you would rather not staff it at all, the alternative is buying receptionist minutes instead of seats, and answering service cost per minute at the published rates is the number to hold against the seat price.
What 50 agents cost for a year, vendor by vendor
Here is the same operation, 50 agents on one shift, voice and digital, priced at published list rates on an annual commitment, licenses only. Telephony, numbers, implementation and AI overage are excluded because no vendor publishes them in a comparable form.
| Plan | Year one at 50 agents, licenses only | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Freshcaller Growth | $9,000 | Plus per-minute calling beyond 2,000 incoming minutes per month |
| Nextiva Engage | $15,000 at the displayed $25 rate; $30,000 at the struck $50 list rate | Business phone plan with an inbound call center, not a full contact center suite |
| Aircall Essentials | $18,000 | Voice-first; digital channels and AI are priced add-ons |
| Twilio Flex, monthly active user plan | $21,000 | Before any usage, which has no included quota |
| Aircall Professional | $30,000 | Includes AI Assist and Salesforce CTI |
| RingCX Standard | $39,000 | Voice plus 20 digital channels; AI is $20 to $25 per user per month extra |
| Freshcaller Enterprise | $41,400 | Plus per-minute calling beyond 5,000 incoming minutes per month |
| Genesys Cloud CX 1 | $45,000 | Voice-focused; digital channels start at CX 2 |
| Nextiva Enterprise Essential | $45,000 | Published as a starting rate |
| Dialpad Support Essentials | $48,000 | Digital channels and most AI are add-ons at this tier |
| Talkdesk Digital Essentials | $51,000 | No voice |
| RingCX Professional | $57,000 | Adds AI quality management and agent assist |
| Talkdesk Voice Essentials | $63,000 | Voice without digital channels |
| NICE CXone Mpower Omnichannel | $66,000 | Entry suite; AI sessions metered on top |
| Genesys Cloud CX 2 | $69,000 | Omnichannel with quality assurance |
| Dialpad Support Advanced | $69,000 | Adds a digital channel and the digital virtual agent |
| Five9 Digital | $71,400 | Exactly the 50 seat minimum; no voice |
| NICE CXone Mpower Essential | $81,000 | |
| RingCX Elite | $87,000 | Includes AI workforce management |
| Twilio Flex, named user plan | $90,000 | Plus voice and messaging usage |
| Dialpad Support Premium | $90,000 | All digital channels, AI scorecards and CSAT included |
| Genesys Cloud CX 3 | $93,000 | Adds workforce engagement management |
| Five9 Core | $95,400 | All channels, concurrent seats at the minimum |
| Talkdesk Elite | $99,000 | Includes workforce management and screen recording |
| NICE CXone Mpower Core | $101,400 | |
| NICE CXone Mpower Complete | $125,400 | |
| Talkdesk Industry Experience Clouds | $135,000 | Vertical packaging for financial services, insurance, healthcare, retail, utilities and others |
| Genesys Cloud CX 4 | $144,000 | Adds 30 AI tokens per named agent per month |
| NICE CXone Mpower Ultimate | $149,400 | Plus $0.25 per AI session |
Read the table for shape, not for a winner. The bottom third is business phone systems with a queue bolted on, and the top third is platforms that include workforce management, quality management and AI in the license. Most buyers looking at Genesys CX 3 or RingCX Elite are also pricing a separate WFM tool, and the published rates for those are in our guide to call center workforce management software. Whether the bundled version is cheaper than the standalone one depends entirely on whether you would have bought the standalone one at all.
The AI line is now a second meter
Every vendor on the list has moved at least part of its AI pricing off the seat and onto a consumption unit, and they do not agree on the unit. Genesys meters AI Experience tokens, with 250 per organization per month included and more bundled into the top tier. NICE bills $0.25 per copilot or autopilot session on top of its top suite. Five9 includes 3,000 AI minutes per bundled seat and bills usage above it. Dialpad sells its AI Agent from a prepaid pool of credits consumed per conversation, and prices its digital virtual agent from $200 a month for 500 sessions. Aircall sells voice agent minutes in bundles of 500 for $175 or at $0.49 a minute. RingCX keeps AI on the seat, at $20 to $25 per user per month per capability.
The practical effect is that the pricing page understates the bill for exactly the buyers who care most about AI. If deflection is the reason you are replacing the platform, get the AI unit defined in writing: what a session or token or minute is, how many a typical contact consumes, and what happens when the included allotment runs out in week three. We cover the same problem across the help desk category in the guide to AI customer service software pricing, where the per-resolution and per-outcome meters are already changing what a support seat costs.
Which contact center vendors charge per successful resolution?
Very few. Of the vendors we checked, only Intercom and Zendesk bill the AI agent on a resolved outcome, meaning you pay only when the customer leaves without a human. Everyone else meters the attempt: a session, a conversation, a minute or a credit. That difference is worth real money, because an attempt-based meter charges for every conversation the bot hands to an agent anyway.
| Vendor | What the AI meter counts | Published rate (checked 2026-09-28) |
|---|---|---|
| Intercom Fin | Resolved outcome | From $0.99 per Fin outcome, on top of seats from $29 per month and a one-seat minimum |
| Zendesk AI agents | Automated resolution | 5, 10 or 15 included per agent per month by plan, capped at 10,000 a year. The overage rate is not printed on the pricing page or help center; third-party analyses cite $1.50 committed and $2.00 pay as you go |
| Salesforce Agentforce | Conversation, or actions paid from credits | $2 per conversation, or Flex Credits at $500 per 100,000 |
| Freshdesk Freddy AI Agent | Session | 500 sessions included, then $49 per 100 sessions |
| NICE CXone Mpower | Copilot or autopilot session | $0.25 per session on the Ultimate suite |
| Dialpad | Session, or conversation from prepaid credits | Digital virtual agent from $200 per month for 500 sessions |
| Aircall AI Voice Agent | Minute | $175 per 500 minutes or $0.49 per minute |
To compare them, convert everything to cost per resolved contact. Divide the attempt price by your realistic containment rate. A $0.49 session at 40 percent containment is about $1.23 per resolution, which is more than Intercom's outcome price, and a $2 conversation at the same rate is $5.00. If a vendor bills per attempt, ask for its containment rate on customers in your industry, in writing, before you accept its price as cheaper.
The shift-pattern arithmetic of named versus concurrent
Take an operation with 90 agents working three shifts of 30. On a named model at Genesys CX 2, that is 90 licenses at $115, or $124,200 a year. On Five9 Core at $159 per concurrent seat, it is 50 seats because of the minimum, not 30, so $95,400. If the operation were 150 agents on three shifts of 50, the concurrent price stays at $95,400 while the named price rises to $207,000. The concurrent model wins by more the more shifts you run, and by nothing at all on a single shift, where named and concurrent counts are the same number.
Vendors that offer both, which on the published pages means Genesys and Zoom, will usually price concurrent higher per seat. Ask for both quotes at your real shift pattern before deciding, and check whether workforce management licenses follow the same model. Five9 states on its pricing page that WEM is named-basis even though the core seats are concurrent, so a 90 agent, 30 concurrent operation buys 30 contact center seats and 90 WEM seats. That footnote moves a quote by tens of thousands of dollars and is the kind of thing the desk exists to catch.
What the pricing page never shows
Telephony. The seat vendors above quote the license and leave the minutes to a rate card you have to ask for. Freshcaller is the exception, printing the included minutes on the plan. Inbound toll-free minutes are the usual surprise, and they are the one usage line that scales with your customers' behavior rather than yours.
Implementation. No vendor on the list publishes an onboarding fee, and for the platforms in the top half of the table it is routinely five figures. Talkdesk Express and Aircall are the only published paths with no services engagement implied.
Seat minimums that are really tier minimums. Five9's 50 seat floor and Aircall's 25 license floor on Custom decide which tier you can buy, the same way seat minimums do in document management pricing. A 30 agent team that wants Five9 is buying 20 empty seats.
Outbound. Dialers are a separate price on most platforms, and on Aircall the Power Dialer sits in the Professional tier. If the outbound side of your operation is sales rather than service, price it as a separate decision, because a per-conversation AI outbound calling agent is a different meter from a dialer seat and may be cheaper for a small team than licensing the sales floor on the contact center platform.
Recording retention. Every suite above records calls, but few say how long the recordings stay. RingCentral keeps them 90 days, Genesys pools 17.5 GB per CX 1 user and charges $0.25 per GB past that, and Talkdesk keeps them without a limit. The retention and storage rules for each vendor are in our call center recording software pricing guide.
The renewal rate. Nextiva's page shows its $15 and $25 rates as discounts against $23 and $50. That is not a criticism; it is a warning to write the year-two rate into the contract. The same applies to every vendor whose first quote arrives with a promotional discount attached.
Frequently asked questions
How much does call center software cost? Published US list rates run from $15 to $249 per agent per month, with most full contact center suites between $65 and $165 per agent on an annual commitment. Telephony minutes, implementation and AI usage are billed on top, so a 50 agent operation typically spends $40,000 to $100,000 a year on licenses and more once usage is added.
How much does Five9 cost per month? Five9 publishes two rates: Digital at $119 and Core at $159 per concurrent seat per month, with a 50 seat minimum, so the smallest published Five9 contract is $5,950 a month for digital channels or $7,950 for all channels. Plus, Pro and Enterprise tiers are quote-only, and usage-based charges apply above the included 3,000 AI minutes per seat.
How much does Genesys Cloud cost per user? Genesys publishes four named-user tiers billed annually: CX 1 at $75, CX 2 at $115, CX 3 at $155 and CX 4 at $240 per user per month. Concurrent and hourly interacting licenses are available at rates the page does not state, and AI Experience tokens beyond the included 250 per organization are metered separately.
What is the cheapest call center software? Among vendors publishing a US rate, Freshcaller Growth at $15 and Nextiva Core at $15 per user per month are the lowest seat prices, and Amazon Connect has no seat price at all, billing $0.038 per voice minute. For a team whose agents spend under 30 hours a month on calls, the usage meter is cheaper than any seat; above that, a low seat rate wins.
Is contact center software priced per named agent or per concurrent agent? Both models are in use. Talkdesk, RingCX, Dialpad, Aircall, Nextiva, Freshcaller and NICE price per named agent; Five9 prices only per concurrent seat; Genesys and Zoom offer either. Concurrent pricing is cheaper for multi-shift operations because thirty agents across three shifts occupy ten seats, but it rarely helps a single-shift team.
Five questions that make quotes comparable
- Is this rate per named agent, per concurrent seat, per active hour or per monthly active user, and what is the minimum?
- What are the per-minute inbound, outbound and toll-free rates, and how many minutes are included?
- What is the AI unit, how many are included, and what does one cost above the allotment?
- Do workforce management and quality management licenses follow the same seat model as the core platform?
- What is the year-two rate, in writing, and does the promotional discount survive renewal?
Bring your shift pattern, your monthly talk hours per agent and your interaction mix to the first call, because those three numbers decide the quote more than anything on the pricing page. If you do not have the talk-hours figure, the call center staffing calculator gets you there from volume and handle time, and the forecasting guide covers how to project it for next year, which is the number the annual commitment is really priced on.
The short version
Eleven of fifteen contact center vendors publish a US rate, so this is one of the few software categories where the shortlist can be priced before the first sales call. The published list runs from $15 to $249 per agent per month, but the unit matters more than the rate: named seats charge for headcount, concurrent seats charge for peak, active-hour and usage meters charge for work done. A single-shift, full-time voice queue belongs on a seat plan at $65 to $165. A multi-shift operation should price concurrent. A part-time, overflow or low-volume desk belongs on an hourly or usage meter. Then get the AI unit and the renewal rate in writing, because those are the two lines that will move the bill after you sign.