Call center recording software costs $15 to $249 per agent per month on the plans vendors publish in 2026, because recording almost always comes bundled with the phone or contact center seat. On pure usage platforms it is far cheaper: Twilio charges $0.0025 per recorded minute plus $0.0005 per minute per month to store it. The price of recording is rarely the problem. The problem is that several business phone plans only record calls on demand, or not at all, on their cheapest tier, and that most vendors delete recordings after 30 days to a year unless you pay to keep them.
We checked the pricing and retention pages of 25 vendors on October 9, 2026, on the vendors' own US websites: business phone systems, contact center suites, usage platforms, call tracking tools and the specialist recorders that sit on top of Microsoft Teams and other phone systems. Sixteen publish a usable price. The specialist compliance recorders publish nothing, and they are in the table anyway, because knowing that before a demo saves a call.
Which call recording software publishes a price?
Read the third column before the price. "Call recording" on a plan card can mean every call recorded automatically, a button the agent has to press, or a monthly hour cap.
| Vendor | Published price (checked 2026-10-09) | Recording on that plan | How long recordings are kept |
|---|---|---|---|
| RingCentral RingEX | Core $20, Advanced $25 per user per month billed annually ($30 and $35 monthly) | Core records on demand only. Automatic recording starts on Advanced | 90 days, up to 100,000 automatic recordings per account |
| Nextiva | Core $15, Engage $25, Scale $75 per user per month annually (Core $23 and Engage $50 monthly) | Recording is an add-on on Core, included from Engage | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Dialpad Connect | Standard $15, Pro $25 per user per month annually ($27 and $35 monthly) | Call recording and unlimited audio recordings listed, seat minimum 1 | No published limit |
| Zoom Phone | US and Canada Unlimited $16, Pro Plus $20.50, Business Plus $24.50 per user per month annually | Call recording on all three | Not stated. Pro Plus and Business Plus include 10 GB and 15 GB of cloud storage per license |
| Aircall | Essentials $30, Professional $50 per license per month annually, 3 license minimum | Recording and transcription included on both | 6 months in the dashboard. Up to 1 year on request on Essentials, unlimited on request on Professional |
| Vonage Business Communications | Mobile $19.99, Premium $29.99, Advanced $39.99 per line per month (30% less on annual contracts through December 31, 2026) | Only Advanced records, on demand, capped at 15 hours a month | Not stated |
| JustCall | Team $29, Pro $49, Pro Plus $89 per user per month annually, 2 license minimum | Recording with unlimited call storage listed | Unlimited storage under a fair use policy |
| Microsoft Teams Phone | Teams Phone Standard $10 per user per month annually, plus a Teams license. With US calling $13 (pay as you go) or $17 (calling plan) | User-started recording only. Automatic compliance recording needs a certified third-party recorder at extra cost | Set by the third-party recorder |
| Dialpad Support | Essentials $80, Advanced $115, Premium $150 per agent per month annually | Call and screen recording, transcription | No published limit |
| Zoom Contact Center | Essentials $69, Premium $99, Elite $149 per agent per month annually | Recording and real-time transcription on all tiers. Quality management on Elite | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Genesys Cloud CX | CX 1 $75, CX 2 $115, CX 3 $155, CX 4 $240 per user per month annually | Voice, digital and screen recording from CX 1. Quality evaluations from CX 2 | 17.5 GB per CX 1 user per month pooled, then $0.25 per GB per month |
| Talkdesk | Voice Essentials $105, Elite $165, Industry clouds $225 per user per month | Recording included. Screen recording from Elite | Unlimited call recording storage on the voice tiers |
| NICE CXone Mpower | Omnichannel $110, Essential $135, Core $169, Complete $209, Ultimate $249 per agent per month | Recording and compliance in all five suites. Screen recording and quality management from Essential | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Five9 | Digital $119, Core $159 per concurrent seat per month, 50 seat minimum | Call recording included in the voice seat | Extra storage is a priced add-on, amount not published |
| Amazon Connect | $0.038 per voice minute plus telephony (US inbound number $0.0022 a minute). No seats, no minimums | Recording included, written to your own Amazon S3 bucket | As long as you keep it in S3 ($0.023 per GB per month, Standard) |
| Twilio Programmable Voice | Recording $0.0025 a minute, storage $0.0005 per minute per month, transcription $0.024 a minute | Every call you configure it to record | As long as you pay for storage |
| CallRail | Lead Tracking $50, Lead Conversion $150 per month per account plus usage, local minutes $0.06 past 250 | Recording and transcription on every plan | Not stated |
| MiaRec | Essentials $25, Professional $35, Enterprise $50 per user per month per product, 25 user minimum, annual contract | Analytics and automated QA on recordings from your phone system | 3 months, 13 months or 3 years by tier |
| CloudTalk | Four plans per user per month, priced in euros only on its site | Recording on all plans, with pause and resume | 1 month on the two cheapest plans, unlimited from Essential up |
| Kixie | No published price, trial and demo only | Recording on all plans | Not stated |
| Gong | No published price. Per user licenses plus a platform fee | Records and analyzes sales calls | Not stated |
| Smarsh (CallCabinet) | No published price | Compliance recording for Teams, Zoom, Webex, RingCentral and others | Policy based, quoted |
| CallMiner (OrecX) | No published price | On-premise and cloud call recorder | Quoted |
| Verint (Calabrio) | No published price | Recording inside its workforce engagement suite | Quoted |
| Dubber | No published price, sold through phone carriers | Cloud call recording for carrier networks | Quoted |
Two patterns are worth more than any single number. First, the cheapest business phone tiers often stop short of automatic recording: RingCentral Core records only when someone presses the button, Nextiva Core sells recording as an add-on, and Vonage records only on its top plan and only for 15 hours a month. Second, contact center seats include recording on every tier, so a support team on Genesys, NICE, Talkdesk or Zoom Contact Center is not choosing whether to record. It is choosing how much storage and analysis it gets on top.
Does call recording cost extra on a business phone plan?
Usually not as a line item, but it often costs a tier. On RingCentral, moving from on-demand recording on Core to automatic recording on Advanced adds $5 per user per month on an annual plan. On Nextiva, recording is an add-on to Core and included in Engage, which is $10 more per user annually and $27 more on a monthly plan. On Vonage, the only plan that records at all is Advanced, which costs $10 more per line than Premium.
For a support line that needs every call on file, on-demand recording is not a substitute. Agents forget, they stop recording when a call turns difficult, and the call you need for a complaint or a chargeback dispute is the one nobody recorded. Price the tier that records automatically, not the tier with the word "recording" on it.
How do you record calls on Microsoft Teams?
Teams gives users a record button, but automatic recording of every call needs a certified third-party compliance recorder on top of the Teams Phone license. Microsoft's own documentation says compliance recording is done "using a third-party solution" with retention set in the partner product, and none of the certified recorders we checked publishes a price. Budget for a quote, not $10 a user.
How long are call recordings kept, and what does storage cost?
Retention is where cheap plans get expensive. A 90-day window covers coaching and most complaints. It does not cover a dispute that arrives four months later, a regulator's request, or a lawsuit with a two-year limitation period.
| Where recordings live | Default retention | What keeping them longer involves |
|---|---|---|
| RingCentral | 90 days, 100,000 automatic recordings per account | Export with RingCentral Archiver or a third-party backup tool before they are deleted |
| Aircall | 6 months in the dashboard | Up to 1 year on request on Essentials, unlimited on request on Professional |
| CloudTalk | 1 month on the two cheapest plans | Unlimited from the Essential plan up |
| Genesys Cloud CX | Pooled storage of 17.5 GB (CX 1) to 42.5 GB (CX 4) per user per month | $0.25 per GB per month beyond the pool. Genesys's own example: 50 GB over costs $12.50 a month |
| Talkdesk | Unlimited call recording storage on its network | Nothing extra on the voice tiers |
| Five9 | Not published | An extra storage add-on, price on request |
| Twilio | Until you delete them | $0.0005 per stored minute per month |
| Amazon Connect | Your own S3 bucket, until you delete them | $0.023 per GB per month on S3 Standard, $0.0125 on Infrequent Access |
| MiaRec | 3 months, 13 months or 3 years by tier | Bulk export to your own storage on Enterprise only |
The storage itself is cheap. On Twilio, a 15-agent team recording 36,000 minutes a month and keeping a full year online pays about $216 a month once the archive is full. The expensive part is a short retention window that quietly deletes what you needed, so write the retention period you want into the order form and ask how recordings are exported in bulk if you leave.
How much does call recording cost per agent?
On a seat plan, recording is part of a $15 to $249 per agent monthly license. On usage pricing, recording one agent's calls costs about $6 a month: a full-time agent with roughly 2,400 recorded minutes a month costs $6.00 to record on Twilio, plus about $1.20 a month in storage for every month of calls kept.
The table below prices one year for a 15-agent support team, each agent recording about 2,400 minutes a month (40 hours of talk time), on the cheapest published plan that records every call automatically. Telephony minutes are excluded on the seat plans because most quote them separately.
| Plan | Year one, 15 agents | What is and is not included |
|---|---|---|
| Twilio (recording plus storage only) | About $2,500 | $1,080 to record, about $1,400 to store as the archive builds. You still need the phone software and the inbound minutes (about $3,700 a year at $0.0085) |
| Zoom Phone US and Canada Unlimited | $2,880 | Unlimited US calling included. Retention not published |
| Dialpad Connect Standard | $2,700 | Unlimited audio recordings listed. Check auto-record settings on Standard during the trial |
| RingCentral Advanced | $4,500 | Automatic recording, kept 90 days |
| Nextiva Engage | $4,500 | Recording included, annual term for the published rate |
| Aircall Essentials | $5,400 | Recording and transcription, 6 months in the dashboard |
| Genesys Cloud CX 1 | $13,500 | Voice, digital and screen recording, 17.5 GB per user per month |
| Amazon Connect | About $17,400 | Usage at $0.038 plus US inbound $0.0022 a minute, includes the contact center, recording and analytics. S3 storage extra and small |
| Talkdesk Voice Essentials | $18,900 | Unlimited recording storage |
| NICE CXone Omnichannel | $19,800 | Recording and compliance included. Quality management from Essential at $135 |
| Five9 Core | $95,400 | The 50 seat minimum means paying for 35 empty seats |
A $2,700 to $19,800 spread for the same 15 agents looks absurd until you notice that the bottom of the table buys a phone line with a record button and the top buys a contact center with queues, reporting and quality tools. If recording is the only gap in your current setup, you do not need a contact center suite to close it. If you are also missing queues, real-time dashboards and QA scoring, our contact center software pricing comparison covers the full seat cost.
When is per-minute pricing cheaper than a seat?
Amazon Connect at $0.038 a minute beats a Genesys CX 1 seat ($75) below about 1,974 minutes per agent per month, a NICE Omnichannel seat ($110) below about 2,895 minutes, and a Five9 Core seat ($159) below about 4,184 minutes. Part-time, seasonal and overflow agents almost always fall under those lines. A full-time agent talking 60% of a 160-hour month (about 5,760 minutes) does not.
What do transcription and call analytics add?
Recording tells you what happened on one call. Transcription and analytics are what make 10,000 recordings searchable, and they are increasingly priced as a second meter.
- Per minute. Twilio transcribes at $0.024 a minute in batch and $0.027 in real time. Amazon Connect's older a la carte plan charges $0.015 a minute for conversational analytics and summaries, and $0.006 a minute for screen recording.
- Per seat add-on. Aircall sells AI Assist Pro at $49 a seat. MiaRec charges $25 to $50 per user per product, and its page shows Conversation Analytics Pro plus Auto QA Pro at $63 per user per month together.
- Allowance inside the seat. Genesys CX 3 includes 1,500 transcription minutes per named user a month and CX 4 includes 3,000. JustCall's paid plans include unlimited AI transcription under fair use. CallRail includes transcription in every plan and 10,000 analysis minutes on its Conversion plans.
- Bundled from a tier. NICE puts interaction analytics in its Complete suite ($209). Zoom Contact Center includes real-time transcription on every tier and quality management on Elite ($149).
Transcription is what makes automated quality scoring possible. If you plan to score calls against a QA scorecard, compare these meters with what dedicated contact center quality management software charges, because buying analytics twice is the most common overspend we see in these quotes.
Is call recording software compliant with consent, PCI and HIPAA rules?
The software can be. Whether your recording is compliant depends on how you configure it, and three rules decide most of that.
Consent. Federal law (18 U.S.C. 2511) allows recording when one party to the call consents, but about 11 states require every party's consent, including California, Florida, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania and Washington. California's penal code allows a fine of up to $2,500 per violation. For an interstate call, the safe practice is to follow the stricter state, which is why most US support lines play a "this call may be recorded" message on every inbound call. Multi-state teams that already keep track of their regulatory obligations in one place should log the recording consent rule there too, next to the retention period.
Card numbers. The PCI Security Standards Council says audio recordings may not keep a card's security code after the payment is authorized, even when the recording is encrypted. The practical fix is pause and resume during payment capture, which CloudTalk and Aircall list on their plans, or taking card details through a secure payment line such as Five9's Secure Pay or Twilio's Pay Connectors (from $0.15 a transaction).
Patient calls. If recordings can contain patient information, you need a signed BAA. Talkdesk, Aircall Enterprise, CloudTalk and RingCentral list HIPAA on their pricing pages, and CallRail says it signs a BAA with healthcare clients on its healthcare plans. A HIPAA badge on a page is not a BAA, so ask for the agreement before the first recorded call.
What is the best call recording software for a small business?
It depends on what you already run. A small business on a phone system that records only on demand will usually spend less upgrading one tier (RingCentral Advanced, Nextiva Engage) than buying a separate recorder. A team on Microsoft Teams needs a certified compliance recorder and should get two quotes, because none publishes a price. A team starting from scratch with fewer than 20 agents can get automatic recording and transcription on Aircall, Dialpad or Zoom Phone for $15 to $50 per user. A team that also needs queues and QA belongs on a contact center plan where recording is included.
Questions to ask before you sign
- Does this plan record every inbound and outbound call automatically, or only when an agent presses record?
- How long are recordings kept, is there a cap on the number, and what does longer retention cost?
- Can we export all recordings in bulk, in what format, and what happens to them if we cancel?
- Is transcription included, capped by minutes, or billed per minute?
- Can agents pause recording while a customer reads out a card number?
- Will you sign a BAA on the plan we are buying?
- Is there a seat or license minimum, and is the published price an annual-term discount?
Recording is one line on a phone bill that has several. If you are pricing the whole phone front end, the IVR system cost guide covers the menu that answers before an agent does, and our cost per ticket breakdown shows where software sits against agent time.
The short version
Call center recording software costs $15 to $249 per agent per month inside a phone or contact center plan, or about $0.0025 a minute plus storage on usage platforms. For a 15-agent team, a year of automatic recording runs from about $2,700 on a business phone plan to $19,800 on a contact center suite. Check three things before the price: whether the plan records every call automatically, how long recordings are kept, and whether you can pause recording during card payments.