AP outsourcing costs about $494 to $1,365 a month as part of a published bookkeeping plan, $10 to $15 an hour for offshore AP staff, or $21,600 to $35,000 a year for a dedicated offshore AP person. At 600 vendor invoices a month that works out to roughly $0.92 to $4.86 per invoice, against an average in-house cost of $9.84 per invoice (Ardent Partners, 2025).

There is a catch that every buyer hits within the first week of shopping. The firms that sell accounts payable outsourcing as their main service do not publish a rate. We checked more than 40 providers on October 1, 2026. Invensis, ARDEM, Personiv, Outbooks, Supporting Strategies, Cogneesol, Accounts Junction and AvidXchange all quote on request. The "$1.50 to $6.00 per invoice" figure that appears in nearly every search result traces back to vendor blogs, and none of the firms repeating it publish that rate for themselves.

So the honest way to price this is from the providers that do publish, converted to one unit you can compare: cost per invoice at your own volume. That is what this page does.

How much does it cost to outsource accounts payable?

It costs between about $1 and $5 per invoice at mid-market volume when you convert published prices, and roughly $6,500 to $35,000 a year in total for a company paying 600 bills a month. The low end is a bookkeeping plan with AP included; the high end is a dedicated offshore AP person who also handles vendor calls, statements and exceptions.

The spread depends on three things more than on the provider's brand. First, the unit: per hour, per dedicated person, per month with a transaction cap, or a custom quote. Second, scope: data entry only, or entry plus approval chasing, payment runs, vendor statement reconciliation and 1099s. Third, exceptions. Ardent Partners puts the average AP exception rate at 18.4 percent, and every outsourcing contract treats those invoices (no PO, wrong price, missing receipt) differently.

Published AP outsourcing prices by provider

Every figure below was read on the provider's own pricing page on October 1, 2026, in US dollars. Where a provider publishes nothing, we say so instead of repeating a number from a blog.

ProviderPublished price (checked 2026-10-01)Billing unitAP scope stated on the page
Bookkeeper360AR/AP back-office add-on from $150 a month, on top of bookkeeping from $399 (monthly close) or $599 (weekly); onboarding from $1,000Per month"AR / AP, Expense Management" as an add-on
ZeniStarter $494 a month billed annually ($549 monthly), Growth $719 ($799 monthly); setup fee not shownPer monthAI bill payments included on all plans, with a finance team
Fusion CPAFoundation from $399, Scaling $665, Established $1,365 a month (typical $1,365 to $1,999); NetSuite Enterprise from $10,000Per monthFull AP/AR management on Established and Enterprise; 1099 preparation on all plans
inDineroEssential from $750, Growth from $1,250 a monthPer monthBill pay through its BILL partnership
PilotEssentials $99 a month (up to $100k monthly expenses); COO Essentials from $850 a monthPer monthCore covers bill management for up to 10 vendor bills a month; full AP only on Custom (contact sales)
Maxim LibertyStandard $75 (5 hours, 300 transactions), Premium $150 (10 hours, 600), Enterprise $300 (20 hours, 1,200) a month; extra hours $15; $900 retainerPer month with hour and transaction capsEnterprise includes AP, AR, payroll and sales tax; 1099 filing is separate
RemoteBooksOnlineFrom $150 a month, priced by transaction volumePer monthAR/AP listed as optional
AccountablyAbout $11 an hour, or about $1,800 to $2,500 per full-time person a month; 1 to 3 FTE to start, 30 days noticePer hour or per FTEAP/AR specialist role listed
Velan BookkeepingFrom $10 an hour; fixed monthly also offeredPer hourAP service listed
Meru AccountingFrom $10 an hour; complex accounting $11 to $15Per hourGeneral bookkeeping
Acelerar$35,000 a year per dedicated AP person, fully loaded; claims under $5 per invoicePer FTE per yearData capture, coding, approval routing, 3-way matching, payment batches
InvensisNo price published; quote on requestNot statedAP specialist
ARDEMNo price published; quote on requestNot statedAP specialist
PersonivNo price published; quote on requestNot statedAP specialist
OutbooksNo price published; quote on requestNot statedAP specialist
Supporting StrategiesNo price published; quote on requestNot statedOutsourced bookkeeping with bill pay
ParoNo price published; matched freelancer quotesNot statedMarketplace of finance freelancers
AvidXchangeNo price published; demo onlyNot statedAP software with payment services

Two rows deserve a second look before you shortlist them. Pilot's Core plan caps bill management at 10 vendor bills a month, so a company paying hundreds of bills is really shopping for Pilot's custom tier, which has no public price. Maxim Liberty's Enterprise plan allows 1,200 transactions in 20 hours, which is one minute per transaction. That is fine for clean, recurring bills and unrealistic for anything that needs a PO match or a phone call to the vendor, so ask how they bill the overflow at $15 an hour.

What AP outsourcing costs per invoice at 600 bills a month

To put the incompatible units side by side, we priced one company: 600 vendor invoices a month, 7,200 a year, with approvals already defined. Plan prices are first-party; the per-invoice figure is simple division, and it assumes the plan covers that volume, which you must confirm in writing.

Plan (7,200 invoices a year)Annual cost at listPer invoiceWhat it leaves with you
Bookkeeper360 monthly close plus AP add-on ($549 a month)$6,588 plus $1,000 onboarding$0.92 ($1.05 in year one)Volume limits not published; confirm the AP add-on covers 600 bills
Zeni Growth, billed annually$8,628$1.20Setup fee not shown
inDinero Growth$15,000$2.08Payment fees on the BILL side
Fusion CPA Established$16,380$2.28Typical range goes to $1,999 a month ($3.33 per invoice)
Accountably, one offshore FTE$21,600 to $30,000$3.00 to $4.17Your own software, approvals and payment rails
Acelerar, one dedicated AP person$35,000$4.86Your own software and payment rails
In-house AP clerk at the BLS median wage$50,670 in wages before benefits$7.04Everything, including cover for holidays and turnover
Ardent Partners average all-in cost to process an invoice$70,848$9.84Benchmark across staff, systems and overhead

The in-house line uses the Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2025 median for bookkeeping, accounting and auditing clerks, $50,670 a year ($24.36 an hour). Add payroll taxes and benefits and the fully loaded number is higher. The Ardent figure is the 2025 State of ePayables average of $9.84 per invoice, with best-in-class teams reported at 79 percent below their peers.

The pattern is clear. Bookkeeping plans that bundle AP are the cheapest per invoice, because AP is priced as a feature rather than as labor, but they are also the ones most likely to hide a bill cap. Dedicated offshore staff cost three to five times as much per invoice and give you a person who answers vendor emails and chases approvers. Neither replaces your payment rails, which brings us to the cost that sits outside every outsourcing quote.

The payment and software fees outsourcing does not cover

Most outsourced AP teams work inside your accounts payable software and pay vendors from your own bank account, so per-payment fees stay on your bill. These are the published rates for the tools they most often use.

ToolPlan price (checked 2026-10-01)Payment fees
BILLEssentials $49, Team $65, Corporate $89 per user a monthACH $0.59, mailed check $1.99, virtual card free, 1099 e-file $2.99 each
MelioCore $25 a month ($20 annual) plus $10 per user; Boost $55; Unlimited $80ACH beyond the included quota $0.50, check $1.50
RampFree tier $0 per user; Plus $15 per user plus a platform fee not shown1099 filing $0.65 per IRS filing
TipaltiAP plans from $99 a month, unlimited usersPer-invoice and implementation fees not shown

At 600 payments a month by ACH on BILL, the rail alone is about $354 a month, or $4,248 a year, before seat fees. If half of your vendors still want paper checks, that rises to roughly $774 a month. Ask every outsourcing provider which software they will run your AP in, and whose subscription it is. A provider that brings its own platform may fold those fees into its price or pass them through at cost, and the difference can be larger than the gap between two quotes.

For a closer look at what the software side costs on its own, our accounts payable automation software guide compares the platforms and their per-invoice pricing models.

Is it worth outsourcing accounts payable?

Outsourcing accounts payable is worth it when your current cost per invoice is above about $5, when one person holds all the vendor knowledge, or when invoice volume swings by season. It is usually not worth it below about 100 invoices a month, where a bookkeeping plan or AP software run by an existing employee costs less than any outsourcing minimum.

Work out your own number first. Take the hours your team spends on AP in a typical week, multiply by 52 and by the loaded hourly cost, add your AP software and payment fees, and divide by annual invoice count. If the result is under $3, outsourcing will rarely beat you on price, and the case has to rest on coverage and controls. If it is over $8, almost every published option above saves money.

The other reason companies outsource is control. A good provider separates the person who enters a vendor's bank details from the person who releases payment, which a three-person finance team often cannot do internally. Our walk through of the accounts payable process steps shows where that separation belongs.

Is AP outsourcing cheaper than AP automation?

AP automation software is cheaper per invoice once someone on your team has time to run it: BILL's Team plan for two users costs $1,560 a year before payment fees. Outsourcing costs more but buys the labor as well. Most mid-sized companies end up combining them, with an outsourced team working inside software the company owns.

The deciding question is who handles the exceptions. Software can capture invoice data and route approvals, but someone still has to call the vendor who billed the wrong price, find the receiving record and fix the coding. If nobody inside has those hours, automation alone moves the backlog rather than clearing it. If you mainly need the data entry gone, a tool that reads each vendor invoice and drafts the bill covers that step for less than a person, and the exceptions stay with whoever already owns vendor relationships.

What should be in an AP outsourcing quote?

An AP outsourcing quote should state the billing unit, the invoice or transaction volume it covers, the overage rate, exception handling, who owns the software and payment fees, the onboarding fee, and the notice period. If any of these is missing, the price you were given is not the price you will pay.

  • Volume and overage. Ask for the per-invoice cost at your volume today and at double it. Plans with a transaction cap (Maxim Liberty) or a bill cap (Pilot Core) are cheap until you cross the line.
  • Exceptions. Ask how invoices without a PO, with a price mismatch or with missing receiving data are billed and how fast they are resolved.
  • Approvals. Confirm who chases your approvers. Many offshore teams only enter and queue invoices; the chasing stays with you. Our guide to invoice approval workflow steps covers what a working approval chain needs.
  • Payment controls. Who can add or change vendor bank details, and is a second person required to release a payment run?
  • 1099s. Fusion CPA includes 1099 preparation; Maxim Liberty bills it separately; BILL charges $2.99 per e-file. Get it in the quote before January.
  • Onboarding and exit. Bookkeeper360 lists onboarding from $1,000, Maxim Liberty a $900 retainer, Accountably 30 days notice. Ask how your vendor master and documents are handed back if you leave.

How long does it take to outsource accounts payable?

Expect four to eight weeks from signature to a provider running your payment cycle on its own. The first two weeks go to access, the vendor master file and the approval matrix; the next two to four are parallel runs, where your team checks every batch. Rushing the parallel runs is how duplicate payments happen.

Clean up before you hand over. Merge duplicate vendors, remove inactive ones, and document which invoices need a PO match. The same discipline is laid out in our vendor invoice management process guide, and a provider will price a tidy vendor file lower than a messy one.

Who should not outsource accounts payable?

Companies paying fewer than about 100 bills a month, or whose bills are almost all recurring (rent, software, utilities), rarely need an AP provider. A bookkeeping plan with bill pay, or AP software run by the office manager, covers them for a few hundred dollars a month. Companies whose vendors require constant negotiation, such as construction subcontractors with retainage, often keep AP in house because the exceptions are the job.

If receivables are the bigger headache, the pricing logic is similar but the units differ (per invoice collected, contingency, FTE). We compared those models in our guide to accounts receivable outsourcing cost.

The short version

No AP outsourcing specialist publishes a per-invoice rate, so price the decision from the providers that do. At 600 invoices a month, published bookkeeping plans with AP cost about $0.92 to $2.28 per invoice, dedicated offshore AP staff $3.00 to $4.86, an in-house clerk about $7 in wages alone, and the Ardent Partners average is $9.84. Payment fees (BILL ACH $0.59, check $1.99) sit on top of every option. Get the volume cap, exception handling and onboarding fee in writing before you compare two quotes.

M
CX operations writer. Ten years running support and onboarding teams at B2B software companies; now writes about the operational side of customer experience.

Back to top ↑