Chargeback representment costs between nothing and 30 percent of the money recovered, depending on who files it. Managed services that publish a rate charge 15 to 25 percent of what they win back, Stripe's automated option charges 30 percent, one Shopify tool charges a flat $19.99 to $99.99 a month, and filing it yourself costs your processor's $15 response fee on every case you lose. Pre-dispute alerts that stop a chargeback before it lands run $14 to $29 each.

We read every figure below off the provider's own pricing page, documentation or legal terms on September 28, 2026. Of 18 chargeback management services we checked, seven publish a usable rate, eight publish nothing or only describe their model, and three block automated access. Where a vendor publishes nothing, we say so instead of repeating a directory estimate, because the directory figures in this category are mostly recycled from vendor blogs.

This guide is written for the person who owns disputes at a US ecommerce or subscription business: an ops lead, a billing manager or a founder looking at 20 to 500 chargebacks a month and a stack of sales emails that all promise to recover the money. The question is which pricing model keeps the most of it.

How much does chargeback representment cost?

Representment is billed in four incompatible units, so the honest answer is a range per model. Success-fee services take 15 to 30 percent of recovered revenue and nothing on losses. Flat-fee tools charge a monthly subscription for unlimited cases. Doing it in-house costs your processor's response fee plus staff time. Alert networks charge $14 to $29 per chargeback they prevent.

On top of whichever you choose sits the processor's own dispute fee, which you pay no matter who fights the case. On Stripe in the US that is $15 per dispute received, and Stripe states it never returns that fee unless your contract says otherwise. So the realistic comparison is never "service versus free". It is the service fee against the extra response fees and hours you would spend doing it yourself.

Chargeback management companies that publish a price

The names with the most brand searches are the ones publishing least. Chargebacks911, Chargeback Gurus, Justt and Sift all route pricing to a demo, and two of the older names no longer exist as standalone companies. The services that do publish are mostly newer, Shopify and Stripe focused tools selling self serve.

ProviderPublished price (checked 2026-09-28)What you are billed for
ChargeflowAutomation 25% of recovered revenue; Alerts $29 per deflected chargeback; Prevent $0.20 per scanned transaction after the first 1,000Wins only on Automation, and the 25% excludes the processor's dispute fee. Alerts discounted above 50 a month. No contract or minimum
ChargeblastRecovery 15% of recovered revenue; Ethoca alert $29; Visa RDR and CDRN alert $19; deflection $14Wins only on Recovery, successful alerts only. No setup fee or monthly retainer
Chargeback.ioEthoca alert $29; Visa RDR $15; CDRN $15 (US only)Prevented chargebacks only. No minimum, no contract, duplicate alerts not billed
DisputifierRecovery 20% of recovered revenue, capped at $250 per win; fraud and item-not-received prevention $0.05 per order eachWins only on Recovery. Alert pricing is custom by volume
ChargePay$19.99, $39.99, $79.99 or $99.99 per month, matched to your Shopify planFlat fee, unlimited cases, no fee on wins. Alerts are an add-on with no published rate
Redo ReclaimListed as free on Redo's pricing pageRepresentment inside Redo's returns platform for Shopify stores
ClearSaleGuarantee plans from $250 per monthPer approved order, with approved orders covered against fraud chargebacks. No setup fee, no long contract
JusttNo percentage published. The FAQ says you only pay when you winSuccess fee, rate not stated
SignifydNo rate published. A percentage of each approved order total, nothing on declinesGuarantee model, priced by vertical and volume
Chargebacks911None. The pricing URL returns a 404 and the site routes to a demoNot stated publicly
Chargeback GurusNone. Contact and demo onlyNot stated publicly
Midigator and KountNone. Both domains now redirect to Equifax, which completed the Midigator purchase in August 2022Not stated publicly
Wyllo (formerly NoFraud)None. A pricing calculator and a demo formNot stated publicly
SiftNone. The pricing URL returns a 404Not stated publicly
Riskified, ChargebackStop, VerifiUnverifiable. The pricing pages block automated requestsChargebackStop's own docs say Ethoca alerts are billed per alert whether you refund or not

Two details in that table matter more than any rate. First, the alert prices have converged: every provider that publishes an Ethoca rate charges $29, and Visa RDR sits at $15 to $19. Alerts are a resold network product, so you are shopping for billing terms (only successful alerts, no duplicates) rather than price. Second, the success fees span 15 to 30 percent for what is, underneath, the same evidence package sent to the same card networks.

What processors charge per dispute, and when you get it back

The processor fee is the one line every merchant pays, and it behaves differently on each platform. Some refund it when you win, one never does, and one charges nothing at all.

ProcessorPublished price per dispute (US)Returned if you win?
Stripe$15 dispute received fee, plus $15 countered fee for each dispute you answer manuallyThe received fee never. The countered fee yes. A fought and lost dispute costs $30
Stripe Smart Disputes30% of the disputed amount, on wins onlyNo fee on losses, but the $15 received fee still applies
Shopify Payments$15 per chargebackYes, the fee is returned on a win
PayPal$15 Standard, $30 High Volume, $20 for a card chargebackStandard fee waived when decided in your favor. The High Volume fee has no such waiver
Braintree$15 per chargebackNot stated on the fee page
Square$0Processing fees are returned on a win
Authorize.net$0 gateway chargeback fee; $25 for an eCheck.Net chargebackYour merchant account fee is set separately by the acquirer
AdyenA fee per booked chargeback, set in your contractNot published

PayPal's High Volume trigger is worth knowing precisely. It applies when your dispute ratio is 1.5 percent or more and you had over 100 sales in the previous three full calendar months, and it doubles the fee to $30 with no refund on wins. That 1.5 percent line is the same number Shopify uses to auto-enroll stores in its network dispute resolution program, which adds a 10 percent reserve. For most small and mid-sized merchants, those processor thresholds bite long before the card network programs do.

The four ways chargeback services bill you

Percentage of recovered revenue. Chargeflow at 25 percent, Disputifier at 20 percent with a $250 cap, Chargeblast at 15 percent, and Stripe Smart Disputes at 30 percent of the disputed amount. You pay nothing on losses, which is why this model sells so easily. The cost grows with your order value, not with the work involved.

Flat monthly fee. ChargePay charges one subscription for unlimited cases. The cost is fixed whatever your order value, so it gets cheaper per recovered dollar as tickets get larger.

Per prevented chargeback. Ethoca, Visa RDR and CDRN alerts at $14 to $29 each. You refund the customer before the chargeback is filed, pay the alert fee, and the case never counts against you.

Percentage of approved sales. Signifyd and ClearSale guarantee approved orders against fraud chargebacks and charge on every approved order, not on disputes. PayPal and Braintree sell the same idea as a processor add-on at 0.40 percent per transaction, or 0.60 percent for the version that also covers more dispute types.

What 100 disputes a month cost on each service

The only fair way to compare the models is to run the same dispute book through each. Take a Stripe merchant with 100 disputes a month at an $80 average order and a 40 percent win rate when disputes are fought: 40 wins, $3,200 recovered. The $1,500 in received fees is paid in every row, so it is left out. The win rate is held constant to isolate price; in practice it varies by provider and by reason code, and you should ask each vendor for theirs.

How you fight itPublished price basisMonthly fee on 100 disputes at $80You keep of $3,200 recovered
Redo Reclaim (inside Redo)Free$0$3,200
ChargePay (Shopify stores)$19.99 to $99.99 flat$20 to $100$3,100 to $3,180
Chargeblast Recovery15% of recovered$480$2,720
Disputifier Recovery20% of recovered, $250 cap per win$640$2,560
Chargeflow Automation25% of recovered$800$2,400
In-house on Stripe$15 countered fee on 60 losses$900 plus staff time$2,300 before staff time
Stripe Smart Disputes30% of disputed amount on wins$960$2,240

Now change the book. Ten disputes a month at a $1,500 average order, same 40 percent win rate: 4 wins, $6,000 recovered. In-house on Stripe costs $90 in countered fees (six losses at $15). Chargeblast costs $900, Disputifier $1,000 because the $250 cap now binds on every win, Chargeflow $1,500, and Smart Disputes $1,800. The success-fee model that was reasonable at $80 is now charging $375 to $450 per win for the same evidence package.

That is the rule of thumb the table proves. At a low average order, a success fee usually costs less than the staff time a response takes. Above roughly $1,000 per order, a capped or flat model, or your own team, keeps far more of the money. In between, the answer depends on how many hours a response takes you, which is worth measuring the same way you would measure cost per support ticket before you outsource it.

Are chargeback alerts worth $29?

On money alone, often not. An alert works by getting you to refund the customer before the chargeback lands. Take an $80 order you would lose anyway. Accepting the chargeback on Stripe costs $80 plus the $15 received fee, $95 in total. Stopping it with a $29 Ethoca alert costs the $80 refund plus $29, which is $109. A $15 Visa RDR alert costs the same $95 as losing.

What the alert buys is not a cheaper outcome but a clean ratio. Visa's monitoring program leaves disputes resolved through RDR and Ethoca out of the count, and so do the processor thresholds that trigger higher fees and reserves. If your dispute ratio is comfortable, alerts are an expense. If it is close to 1 percent and climbing, they are the cheapest insurance you can buy against a $30 PayPal fee, a Shopify reserve or a network program.

Visa and Mastercard thresholds that change the answer

Visa folded its dispute and fraud programs into one Visa Acquirer Monitoring Program (VAMP), with enforcement from October 1, 2025. Since April 1, 2026, a US merchant is rated excessive at a ratio of 1.5 percent with at least 1,500 fraud reports and disputes a month. Visa does not publish the per-dispute enforcement fee; figures around $8 appear only in vendor blogs, so treat them as unverified. Mastercard's Excessive Chargeback Merchant program starts at 100 chargebacks and 1.5 percent in a month, with fines that step from $1,000 in months two and three up to $100,000 from month 19, and its high-excessive tier (300 chargebacks and 3 percent) runs to $200,000.

The 1,500 count means VAMP mostly concerns merchants with 100,000 or more card-not-present transactions a month. Smaller merchants usually hit PayPal's or Shopify's 1.5 percent trigger first, which is where the money is actually lost.

Is chargeback insurance worth it?

Chargeback insurance, sold as a guarantee or protection program, is worth it when fraud is most of your disputes and your margin is thin. You pay on every approved sale, around 0.4 to 0.6 percent on the processor programs, and covered fraud chargebacks are reimbursed. It does nothing for "item not as described" or subscription disputes unless the program lists them.

Run the arithmetic on your own numbers. At $100,000 a month in card sales, PayPal's or Braintree's 0.40 percent program costs $400 a month. That pays off if it covers more than about $400 of losses a month, which at an $80 order is four or five fraud chargebacks plus fees. Stripe announced its own Chargeback Protection at 0.4 percent in 2019 and now quotes the rate in the dashboard, so read it from your account. Signifyd and ClearSale price their guarantees by vertical and ticket size; ClearSale's plans start at $250 a month.

Before buying, pull a quarter of your disputes by reason code. If fraud is under half of them, a guarantee covers the minority and you still need a representment process for the rest. The operational split between disputes you should refund and disputes you should fight is laid out in our comparison of a chargeback, a refund and a dispute.

Frequently asked questions

How much do chargeback management companies charge?

Most chargeback management companies charge a success fee of 15 to 25 percent of the money they recover, with nothing due on lost cases. Of the providers that publish a rate, Chargeblast charges 15 percent, Disputifier 20 percent capped at $250 per win, and Chargeflow 25 percent. Flat plans exist too: ChargePay charges $19.99 to $99.99 a month for unlimited cases. Enterprise names such as Chargebacks911 and Justt quote privately.

Do you get the chargeback fee back if you win?

It depends on the processor. Shopify Payments returns its $15 fee on a win, and PayPal waives its $15 Standard fee when the case is decided in your favor. Stripe never returns its $15 dispute received fee, only the separate $15 countered fee. Square charges no dispute fee and returns processing fees on a win. Winning recovers the sale amount, not the time spent.

Who pays chargeback fees?

The merchant pays. The processor or acquiring bank deducts the fee from your balance when the dispute is filed, whether you fight it or not. The cardholder pays nothing, and the card network passes its own costs to the acquirer, who passes them to you. The only merchants who avoid a per-dispute fee are those on processors like Square that do not charge one.

Is chargeback management worth it?

It is worth it when your average order is low enough that your staff time per case costs more than the success fee, or when your dispute ratio is close to a processor threshold. At an $80 order and 40 percent win rate, a 15 to 25 percent service keeps $2,400 to $2,720 of every $3,200 recovered. At a $1,500 order, the same percentage often costs more than handling the case yourself.

Five questions to ask before you sign

  • Is the fee a percentage of the recovered amount or of the disputed amount? Stripe's 30 percent is on the disputed amount; most services quote on recovered revenue. On partial wins the difference is real.
  • Is there a cap per win? Disputifier caps at $250. Without a cap, a single $5,000 win at 25 percent costs $1,250.
  • What is your win rate on my reason codes, in writing? A 10 point better win rate outweighs a 5 point cheaper fee on almost any book.
  • Are alerts billed only when they stop a chargeback? Chargeflow, Chargeblast and Chargeback.io say yes. ChargebackStop's documentation says Ethoca alerts are billed whether you refund or not.
  • How will the fees show up in my books? Processors net dispute debits, fee reversals and service invoices out of payouts on different days, so reconciling them means matching each line against the bank feed. If your accounting system imports bank files rather than live feeds, it helps to convert the bank statement to OFX before month end so every chargeback debit and reversal lands as its own transaction.

A related trap for B2B sellers: a customer short-paying an invoice is not a card chargeback, and none of these services will touch it. Retailer short pays are handled as deductions, which we separate from card disputes in chargeback vs deduction in accounts receivable.

The short version

Seven of 18 chargeback management services publish a price. Success fees run 15 to 30 percent of recovered revenue, a flat Shopify plan runs $19.99 to $99.99 a month, and alerts cost $14 to $29 per prevented chargeback, with Ethoca at $29 everywhere it is listed. On Stripe, the $15 received fee is paid on every dispute no matter who fights it. At an $80 average order, a 15 to 25 percent service keeps most of the money for you; at $1,500, a capped, flat or in-house process keeps hundreds of dollars more per win. Buy alerts for your ratio, not your margin, and buy a guarantee only if fraud is most of your disputes.

M
CX operations writer. Ten years running support and onboarding teams at B2B software companies; now writes about the operational side of customer experience.

Back to top ↑